Homepage

Joubert for Super Final

Mon, 28 Jul 2014 08:01
Craig-joubert-gestures
Watson holds the record for most Finals
Quote-end

For the second year in a row, Craig Joubert of South Africa has been appointed to referee the Super Rugby Final. This year it is between the Waratahs and the Crusaders at ANZ Stadium in Sydney.

It will be Joubert's third Final after his first, which was between the Bulls and the Stormers in Soweto in 2010.

André Watson holds the record for the most Finals - five between 1999 and 2004. Watson's Final finale was three in a row. After Watson there are three referees on three finals each - Paddy O'Brien, Jonathan Kaplan and now Craig Joubert.

Neither of the semifinal referees, Glen Jackson of New Zealand and Jaco Peyper of South Africa - is appointed to a role in the 2014 Final as the other three match officials are Australian.

Match officials for the 2014 Final

Waratahs v Crusaders
(ANZ Stadium, Sydney, Australia - Kick-off: 19.40; 21.40 NZT, 11.40 SAST, 09.40 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

RELATED ARTICLES