Dead-ball as for touch-in-goal
Wed, 30 Jul 2014 10:50
The IRB has spoken and for purposes of deciding about in in-goal or not, the dead-ball line is to be treated as the touch-in-goal line.
This follows debate following a try by George North in the Pro 12 League and a try by van Wyk at ]Craven week and a near try for the Hurricanes in Super Rugby.
The matter was discussed on the referees' website - http://www.sareferees.com/News/law-discussion-two-tries-at-craven-week/2830201/ - and on rugby365. (to read it CLICK HERE! In the rugby365 case there are clips to go with the article.)
Currently there is a problem in the wording of the law: Law 22.4 (g) Player in touch or touch-in-goal. If an attacking player is in touch or in touch-in-goal, the player can score a try by grounding the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not carrying the ball.
The problem is that no mention is made of the dead-ball line.
André Watson, the manager of SA Referees, referred the matter to the International Rugby Board who are rugby's lawmakers.
He received the following reply: "To this date referees have treated the dead ball line the same as the touch in-goal line.
"A try scored by George North for Llanelli Scarlets against Cardiff Blues with Derek Bevan as the TMO got it spot on in accordance with that interpretation."
With a bit of luck the law will be made clearer.
|South African news|
|» Varsity Sevens: Kovsies win it all|
|» Vodacom Cup: WP, Lions set pace|
|» Varsity Sevens: Maties fall short|
|» Kolbe invited to Bok training camp|
|» Varsity Sevens: UJ on top|