Homepage

Dead-ball as for touch-in-goal

Wed, 30 Jul 2014 10:50
George-north-try

The IRB has spoken and for purposes of deciding about in in-goal or not, the dead-ball line is to be treated as the touch-in-goal line.

This follows debate following a try by George North in the Pro 12 League and a try by van Wyk at ]Craven week and a near try for the Hurricanes in Super Rugby.

The matter was discussed on the referees' website - http://www.sareferees.com/News/law-discussion-two-tries-at-craven-week/2830201/ - and on rugby365. (to read it CLICK HERE! In the rugby365 case there are clips to go with the article.)

Currently there is a problem in the wording of the law: Law 22.4 (g) Player in touch or touch-in-goal. If an attacking player is in touch or in touch-in-goal, the player can score a try by grounding the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not carrying the ball.

The problem is that no mention is made of the dead-ball line.

André Watson, the manager of SA Referees, referred the matter to the International Rugby Board who are rugby's lawmakers.

He received the following reply: "To this date referees have treated the dead ball line the same as the touch in-goal line.

"A try scored by George North for Llanelli Scarlets against Cardiff Blues with Derek Bevan as the TMO got it spot on in accordance with that interpretation."

With a bit of luck the law will be made clearer.

RELATED ARTICLES