Sykes set for Kings captaincy

Tue, 02 Sep 2014 14:05
Large steven sykes presser

Carlos Spencer announced that Steven Sykes will once again captain the side as regular skipper, Luke Watson, is still recovering from a concussion.

EP Kings head coach, Carlos Spencer, announced that Steven Sykes will once again captain the side as regular skipper, Luke Watson, is still recovering from a concussion.
The coach has made five changes to the starting lineup that will take on Western Province at Newlands this weekend.
Changes to the forward pack include Lizo Gqoboka, who will return to the side at loosehead prop in place of Bennie Geldenhuys Uys, with Shaun McDonald coming off the bench on at flank, rotating with Thembelani Boli who moves to the bench.
At the back, Dwayne Jenner makes his Currie Cup debut at inside centre, with Spencer moving Shane Gates to the bench, opting to rest him a little following a high work load.
“We decided to give Dwayne a start as he has been working hard over the past few weeks in training and hopefully he can bring a bit of physicality to our defence as well,” he said.
Tim Whitehead makes his return at outside after a week’s absence from the team due to a knock he took to the knee during the match against the Blue Bulls.
Whitehead's return sees Ronnie Cooke moving back to wing opposite Siviwe Soyizwapi, with Siyanda Grey moving onto the bench.
"Tim is rested and refreshed and ready to go and Ronnie gives 100 percent no matter where you put him,” he said.
George Whitehead retains his spot at flyhalf, with Spencer opting to rest Gary van Aswegen for another week following a groin strain that saw Van Aswegen out of contention for the Lions match.
On the bench, CJ van der Linde returns in place of Charles Marais, after recovering from a calf strain.
Eastern Province Kings: 15 Scott van Breda, 14 Ronnie Cooke, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Dwayne Jenner, 11 Siviwe Soyizwapi, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Kevin Luiters, 8 Aidon  Davis, 7 Paul Schoeman, 6 Shaun MacDonald, 5 Steven Sykes (Captain), 4 David Bulbring, 3 Tom Botha, 2 Edgar Marutlulle, 1 Lizo Gqoboka.
Replacments: 16 Mike van Vuuren, 17 CJ Van der Linde, 18 Thembelani Bholi, 19 Stefan Willemse, 20 Tobie Botes, 21 Shane Gates, 22 Siyanda Grey.
Date: Friday, September 5
Venue: Newlands Stadium, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.10 (17.10 GMT)
Referee: Stuart Berry 
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman, Marc van Zyl
TMO: Shaun Veldsman
There are currently no matches being played
Mon, 11 December 2017
Saracens v Clermont Auvergne 17h30 Allianz Park
Fri, 15 December 2017
Ulster v Harlequins 19h45 Kingspan Stadium
Sat, 16 December 2017
Montpellier v Glasgow Warriors 13h00 Altrad Stadium
Treviso v Scarlets 13h00 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Racing Metro v Castres 15h15 Stade Yves-du-Manoir
Leinster v Exeter Chiefs 15h15 Aviva Stadium
Bath v Toulon 17h30 Recreation Ground
Sun, 17 December 2017
Wasps v La Rochelle 13h00 Ricoh Arena
Ospreys v Northampton Saints 15h15 Liberty Stadium
Clermont Auvergne v Saracens 15h15 Stade Marcel-Michelin
Leicester Tigers v Munster 17h30 Welford Road
Team P W D L Pts
Sharks 12 10 0 2 47
Western Province 12 7 0 5 37
Golden Lions 12 6 0 6 35
Blue Bulls 12 5 0 7 32
Free State Cheetahs 12 6 0 6 31
Pumas 12 4 0 8 27
Griquas 12 4 0 8 26