Cheetahs make pivotal switch

Wed, 03 Sep 2014 12:28
Large pieter steyn de wet

The Free State Cheetahs have made a couple of changes to their team ahead of the crucial Currie Cup Round Five encounter with the Pumas.

The Free State Cheetahs have made a couple of changes to their team ahead of the crucial Currie Cup Round Five encounter with the Pumas.

Pieter-Steyn de Wet will make his first Currie Cup start when the University of the Free State (Shimlas) player runs out at flyhalf in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

He replaces Willie du Plessis in the No.10 jersey.

De Wet played for the Cheetahs before, making four Vodacom Cup appearances off the bench in 2012, before joining Griquas on a loan-deal last year.

He made his Currie Cup debut as a second-half replacement last week and Saturday gets his big break as the starting flyhalf.

The other noteworthy selection is in the midfield, where Phillipus du Plessis replaces Joubert Engelbrecht for his first Currie Cup start since his return from French club Montpellier.

Du Plessis has travelled the globe playing at various teams - including stints with the Sydney Rooster Rugby League outfits' academy side, the Melbourne Rebels Super Rugby side, the Stormers and French Top 14 team Montpellier.

He returned from France after just one season to join the Cheetahs.

Free State Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rayno Benjamin, 13 Phillipus du Plessis, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Jean Cook, 7 Neil Claassen, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Henco Venter, 3 Rudolph Botha, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld (captain), 1 Kevin Stevens.
Replacements: 16 Abraham le Roux, 17 George Marich, 18 Werner Lourens, 19 Vincent Jobo, 20 Shaun Venter, 21 Willie du Plessis, 22 Joubert Engelbrecht.
Date: Saturday, September 6
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 15.00 (13.00 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant referees: Gerrie de Bruin, Jaco Kotze
TMO: JJ Wagner

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 23 February 2018
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Dragons v Edinburgh 19h30 Rodney Parade
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Sun, 25 February 2018
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Team P W D L Pts
Sharks 12 10 0 2 47
Western Province 12 7 0 5 37
Golden Lions 12 6 0 6 35
Blue Bulls 12 5 0 7 32
Free State Cheetahs 12 6 0 6 31
Pumas 12 4 0 8 27
Griquas 12 4 0 8 26