Genia out of Rebels trial match against Tahs

Wed, 14 Feb 2018 08:50
Large will genia wallabies training 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Wallaby scrumhalf Will Genia will miss the Rebels' final Super Rugby trial against the Waratahs due to a back injury.

Genia hasn't yet played for the Rebels, pulling out of the Brisbane Tens with the back concern that is still lingering, putting him under a cloud for round one.

He is one of four big-name Rebels injured for the final trial week, with wing Marika Koroibete and flank Richard Hardwick missing with knee injuries and centre Billy Meakes still recovering from foot surgery, that is set to rule him out of the early parts of the 2018 Super Rugby season.

Outside of that trio, Rebels coach Dave Wessels has picked a formidable squad with new captain Adam Coleman and Wallabies Jermaine Ainsley, Lopeti Timani, Reece Hodge, Sefa Naivalu and Amanaki Mafi for their first appearances of 2018.

The trial will mark the first occasion for new recruits Coleman, Ainsley and substitute Ross Haylett-Petty to pull on the Rebels jersey ahead of next weekend’s season opener against the Queensland Reds at AAMI Park.

Prop Tetera Faulkner, hooker Jordan Uelese, lock Matt Philip and flanker Angus Cottrell have retained their spots in the starting line-up following the Rebels’ first trial match of the year against the Brumbies last weekend.

Scrumhalf Michael Ruru will partner Jack Debreczeni in the halves after the experienced flyhalf was promoted to the starting line-up for the final trial match while Jack Maddocks and Naivalu will occupy the wings and Dane Haylett-Petty at fullback.

Wessels and the club’s medical staff have opted for a cautious approach to the final trial with Will Genia (back), Marika Koroibete (knee) and Richard Hardwick (knee) given more time to overcome their injuries.

The Rebels finalise their trial phase of the pre-season on Thursday as preparations wrap up ahead of the 2018 Super Rugby season.

Rebels: 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Jack Maddocks, 13 Tom English, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Sefa Naivalu, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Michael Ruru, 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Angus Cottrell, 6 Lopeti Timani, 5 Adam Coleman (captain), 4 Matt Philip, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Tetera Faulkner.
Replacements: Fereti Sa’aga, Mahe Vailanu, Sam Talakai, Trevor Hosea, Esei Ha’angana, Colby Fainga’a, Ross Haylett-Petty, Harrison Goddard, Tayler Adams, Kitione Ratu, Sione Tuipulotu, David Horwitz, Semisi Tupou, Dom Shipperley, Pone Fa’amausili.

Waratahs: tbc

Date: Thursday, February 15
Venue: Brookvale Oval, Sydney
Kick-off: 18.45 (7.45 GMT)
Referee: TBC

Source: @rugbycomau


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 20 April 2018
Blues v Highlanders 07h35 Eden Park
Waratahs v Lions 09h45 Sydney
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 19h35 Kingspan Stadium
Sat, 21 April 2018
Crusaders v Sunwolves 07h35 Christchurch
Reds v Chiefs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Rebels 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Leinster v Scarlets 14h30 Dublin
Sharks v Stormers 15h15 Durban
Zebre v Ospreys 16h45 Parma
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 17h05 Kingspan Stadium
Sun, 22 April 2018
Brumbies v Jaguares 06h05 Canberra
Racing Metro v Munster 14h15 Paris
Fri, 27 April 2018
Wasps v Northampton Saints 22h00 Ricoh Arena
London Irish v Saracens 22h00 Madejski Stadium
Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 22h00 Welford Road
Gloucester v Bath 22h00 Kingsholm
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 22h00 Sandy Park
Kings v Cheetahs 22h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Worcester Warriors v Harlequins 22h00 Sixways
Dragons v Scarlets 22h00 Rodney Parade
Edinburgh v Glasgow Warriors 22h00 Myreside
Cardiff Blues v Ospreys 22h00 Cardiff Arms Park
Connacht v Leinster 22h00 Sportsground
Munster v Ulster 22h00 Thomond Park
Treviso v Zebre 22h00 Stadio Monigo
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Waratahs 7 5 1 1 24
Rebels 6 4 0 2 20
Brumbies 7 3 0 4 14
Reds 7 3 0 4 13
Sunwolves 7 0 0 7 2
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Hurricanes 7 6 0 1 27
Crusaders 7 5 0 2 24
Chiefs 7 5 0 2 21
Highlanders 6 4 0 2 19
Blues 7 2 0 5 12
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 8 5 0 3 25
Bulls 7 3 0 4 14
Sharks 8 2 1 5 14
Stormers 8 3 0 5 13
Jaguares 6 2 0 4 8