Lance at Pivot for Reds trial match

Wed, 14 Feb 2018 09:55

SUPER RUGBY PRE-SEASON: Reds head coach Brad Thorn has handed Jono Lance his first start at flyhalf for their final pre-season match against Fiji Warriors on Thursday.

Lance and fullback Aidan Toua have been named as starters for the first time since re-signing with the franchise.

The 26-man squad features 19 players with previous Super Rugby experience, along with a number of players who have progressed through Queensland Rugby Union’s Under-20 and National Rugby Championship pathways in recent years.
The starting side features 14 capped Reds players, along with uncapped hooker Brandon Paenga-Amosa – who has already featured for the Reds in their intra-squad trial and the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens.
The bench also features new Reds JP Smith, Filipo Daugunu and Teti Tela.
The match is the Reds’ final fixture before their  Super Rugby season commences with an away match against the Melbourne Rebels next Friday, February 23.
Reds head coach Thorn said: "Everyone is looking forward to getting back to Ballymore for our final pre-season match.
"The team has had a couple of hit-outs now, but [Thursday's] match is our first proper 15s clash, so we’ll be looking to get plenty out of it as we start our preparations for our opening match of the season.
"It’s good to be able to welcome Jono and Aidan into the team for the first time. They’ve been training with us for a little bit now so are itching to get involved.
"We don’t have many opportunities to play at Ballymore and the players love running out onto that turf, so it would be great to see a big crowd gather to watch us play the Fijian Warriors,"

Reds: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Duncan Paia’aua, 11 Izaia Perese, 10 Jono Lance, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Scott Higginbotham (captain), 7 Adam Korczyk, 6 Caleb Timu, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Lukhan Tui, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 JP Smith, 18 Sef Fa’agase, 19 Harry Hockings, 20 Angus Scott-Young, 21 Moses Sorovi, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Filipo Daugunu, 26 Liam Wright, 27 Tate McDermott, 28 Teti Tela

Fiji Warriors: tbc

Date: Thursday, February 15
Venue: Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 19.00 (9.00 GMT, 21.00 Fiji time)
Referee: TBC

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 17 February 2018
Cardiff Blues v Munster 17h30 Cardiff Arms Park
Sun, 18 February 2018
Wasps v Exeter Chiefs 15h00 Ricoh Arena
Dragons v Treviso 15h30 Rodney Parade
Mon, 19 February 2018
NMMU-Madibaz v Wits 14h45 Port Elizabeth
Maties v CUT-Ixias 16h30 Cape Town
UCT-Ikeys v Shimlas 16h30 Cape Town
NWU-Pukke v UJ 17h00 Potchefstroom
Fri, 23 February 2018
Dragons v Edinburgh 22h00 Rodney Parade
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 0 0 0 0 0
Reds 0 0 0 0 0
Waratahs 0 0 0 0 0
Sunwolves 0 0 0 0 0
Rebels 0 0 0 0 0
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 0 0 0 0 0
Hurricanes 0 0 0 0 0
Chiefs 0 0 0 0 0
Highlanders 0 0 0 0 0
Blues 0 0 0 0 0
Pool SA
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 1 1 0 0 4
Lions 1 1 0 0 4
Sharks 1 0 0 1 1
Bulls 0 0 0 0 0
Jaguares 1 0 0 1 0