Wallabies bring in reinforcements

Sun, 13 Nov 2016 20:24

NEWS: Wallaby coach Michael Cheika added eight new faces to his touring party.

The reinforcements - ahead of a Test against France on Saturday, as well as a tour game against the French Barbarians the following Thursday in Bordeaux - come as Cheika confirmed that second row forward Adam Coleman will almost certainly miss Australia's next match.

The Wallabies will face France at Stade de France on Saturday, November 19, before a Wallaby XV take on a French Barbarians side in Bordeaux next Thursday, November 24.

Three uncapped players will be welcomed for the week in Paris - with Western Force utility Jono Lance to join the touring party alongside Melbourne Rebels scrumhalf Nic Stirzaker and Queensland Reds hooker Andrew Ready.

Toby Smith and Paddy Ryan will add to the props stocks while Taqele Naiyaravoro and Luke Morahan bolster the outside backs.

Brumbies lock Sam Carter also joins the group as he looks to add to his 13 Wallabies caps.

Lance is the only player of the eight who didn't receive an invitation to play for the Barbarians in their recent three games across Europe against South Africa, Czech Republic and Fiji.

"We had always planned to bring in these players for the France week, after the seven lads wrapped up with the Barbarians," Cheika said.

"Five of the players have Test experience for the Wallabies and while it's good to bolster our numbers ahead of the Wallaby XV game against the French Barbarians, we may consider them for selection against France this weekend."

Coleman left the field five minutes into Australia's 23-22 win over Scotland at Murrayfield and will undergo scans to get a better understanding of how severe his injury is.

"[It] looks like he's strained a medial ligament in his knee," said Cheika of Coleman.

"He'll go and get some pictures now and then we'll see what that presents for him [and] whether he can stay on or whether he'll have to go home."

Additional Australian touring party members: Sam Carter, Jono Lance, Luke Morahan, Taqele Naiyaravoro, Andrew Ready, Paddy Ryan, Toby Smith, Nic Stirzaker.