Godwin takes centre stage in Paris

Thu, 17 Nov 2016 11:15
Large kyle godwin 2016 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Wallabies coach Michael Cheika has made twelve changes to his starting side for the Test against France at Stade de France in Paris on Saturday.

Will Genia, Henry Speight and Tevita Kuridrani retain their starting spots while David Pocock shifts to the No.7 jersey and will captain the side with Stephen Moore named amongst the reserves.

Pocock will skipper the side for the first time since August 2012, when he led the Wallabies in an 18-27 Bledisloe Cup defeat in Sydney.

It will be a long-awaited debut for Kyle Godwin as he becomes Wallaby No.903, two years on from initially joining the Wallabies train-on squad for the 2014 end-of-year tour

Godwin will also become the Wallabies 13th debutant of 2016, their second highest tally in the professional era since 14 players made their debut in 2005.

The new-look starting side boasts 502 Test caps while the extended bench is also packed with experience for the clash at Stade de France.

Moore, Scott Sio and Tom Robertson make up the front row reserves while Waratahs wing Taqele Naiyaravoro could be in line for his first Test since coming off the bench against England at Allianz Stadium in June this year. 

Australia: 15. Luke Morahan, 14 Sefanaia Naivalu, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Henry Speight, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Sean McMahon, 7 David Pocock (captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Allan Alaalatoa, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 James Slipper.    
Replacements - from:  Stephen Moore, Scott Sio, Tom Robertson, Will Skelton, Dean Mumm, Lopeti Timani, Nick Phipps, Bernard Foley, Taqele Naiyaravoro. 

Date: Saturday, November 19
Venue: Stade de France, France
Kick-off: 21.00 (20.00 GMT; 06.00 AEDT Sunday, November 20)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Wayne Barnes (England), Greg Garner (England)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)