Skelton leads Wallabies into battle

Wed, 23 Nov 2016 21:01
Large will skelton wallabies 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Waratahs lock Will Skelton will lead the Wallaby XV in their non-cap encounter with the French Barbarians at Stade Chaban-Delmas in Bordeaux on Thursday.

Skelton is one of 12 capped Wallabies in the starting XV.

Jono Lance will be Skelton's deputy, after the Western Force playmaker narrowly missed out on making his Test debut off the bench against France last weekend in Paris.

The Wallaby XV, coached by Scott Wisemantel, has four overseas-based players in the matchday 23 - including former Wallaby captain Ben Mowen, who will start at No.8.

"It's a great opportunity for all the lads in the team to get out and impress against a very experienced French Barbarians side," Wisemantel said.

"We have a good mix of youth and experience in our team which will be important as the French have some renowned Internationals and aren't taking this game lightly.

"A lot of guys have been training in the Wallabies system for the past month on tour and now we have had a great week gelling together in Bordeaux."

The Montpellier assistant will have two Fijian flyers to let loose in Bordeaux, after naming Waratahs wing Taqele Naiyaravoro alongside Marika Koroibete, in what will be his first game of Rugby since returning to the 15-man game.

Former Brumbies flank Henry Vanderglas has also come into the squad after initially not being named in the Wallaby XV squad.

He's joined by fellow French-based Australian Henry Clunies-Ross, who has been named as 24th man, after the speedster's career in Australia was cut short because of an Achilles injury.


French Barbarians: 15 Hugo Bonneval, 14 Blair Connor, 13 Pierre Aguillon, 12 Aurélien Rougerie, 11 Louis Dupichot, 10 Romain Lonca, 9 Yann Lesgourgues, 8 Raphaël Lakafia, 7 Camille Gérondeau, 6 Romain Sazy, 5 Rodrigo Capó Ortega, 4 Felix Lambey, 3 Julien Brugnaut, 2 Rémi Bonfils, 1 Lucas Pointud.
Replacements: 16 Jean-Charles Orioli, 17 Jean-Baptiste Poux, 18 Loïc Jacquet, 19 Jean Monribot, 20 Antoine Dupont, 21 Julien Dumora, 22 Julien Caminati, 23 Alexandre Menini.

Wallaby XV: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Marika Koroibete, 13 Mark Gerrard, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Jono Lance, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Ben Mowen, 7 Jack Dempsey, 6 Peter Kimlin, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Will Skelton (captain), 3 Tom Robertson, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Paddy Ryan.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Sef Fa'agase, 18 David Lolohea, 19 Scott Fardy, 20 Henry Vanderglas, 21 Nic Stirzaker, 22 Izaia Perese, 23 Andrew Kellaway.

Twenty-fourth man: Henry Clunies-Ross

Date: Thursday, November 24
Venue: Stade Chaban-Delmas, Bordeaux
Kick-off: 20.45 (19.45 GMT; 06.45, Friday, November 25 Australian Eastern Daylight Time)
Referee: Juan Sylvestre (Argentina)
Assistant referees: Laurent Cardona (France), Maxime Chalon (France)
TMO: Arnaud Blondel (France)