Carbery faces All Black baptism of fire

Mon, 31 Oct 2016 20:31

NEWS: Fledgeling flyhalf Joey Carbery could make his Test debut, as Ireland go in search of their first win over New Zealand.

The Irish face the World Cup champion All Blacks in Chicago on Saturday.

Carberry, included in a 27-man squad on Monday - a day before his 21st birthday - has made just nine senior appearances for Leinster.

But with Ulster's Paddy Jackson missing the trip to the United States for personal reasons, Carbery could provide bench cover for first-choice No.10 Jonathan Sexton after he was selected ahead of Ian Madigan, now at French club Bordeaux.

The Irish will be without experienced forwards Peter O'Mahony, Sean O'Brien and Iain Henderson - all still returning to fitness - as they bid to defeat a New Zealand side looking to extend their world record for successive wins to 19 consecutive Tests.

Keith Earls will also miss the trip due to a ban for a dangerous tackle in the European Cup.

In 28 Tests spanning more than a hundred years, Ireland have never beaten New Zealand, with their best result a 10-all draw in Dublin in 1973.

But their last meeting saw Ireland, under New Zealand-born Joe Schmidt, go desperately close before Ryan Crotty's injury-time try, converted by Aaron Cruden, gave the All Blacks a 24-22 win at Dublin's Lansdowne Road three years ago.

Ireland and New Zealand will meet again in Dublin on November 19.  

Ireland squad: Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Rory Best (Ulster, captain), Joey Carbery (Leinster), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Ultan Dillane (Connacht), Tadgh Furlong (Leinster), Craig Gilroy (Ulster) Cian Healy (Leinster), Jamie Heaslip (Leinster), Robbie Henshaw (Leinster), Billy Holland (Munster), Rob Kearney (Leinster), Kieran Marmion (Connacht), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Luke McGrath (Leinster), Jordi Murphy (Leinster), Conor Murray (Munster), Jared Payne (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster), Donnacha Ryan (Munster), Jack Ryan (Munster), Jonathan Sexton (Leinster), CJ Stander (Munster), Devin Toner (Leinster), Andrew Trimble (Ulster), Josh Van der Flier (Leinster), Simon Zebo (Munster)

Agence France-Presse