Ireland get O'Brien back for All Black rematch

Thu, 17 Nov 2016 14:53

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Ireland coach Joe Schmidt made just one change to his starting XV for the return match against New Zealand in Dublin on Saturday.

Sean O'Brien comes in for the injured Jordi Murphy - the only alteration from the side that made history by beating the All Blacks 40-29 in Chicago a fortnight ago.

Rory Best will win his 99th cap as he leads out the team on Saturday.

He is partnered in the front row by Jack McGrath and Tadhg Furlong, with Devin Toner and Donnacha Ryan in the second row.

Vice-captain Jamie Heaslip will win his 90th cap for Ireland on Saturday.

He is joined in the back row by O'Brien, who played 67 minutes against Canada last Saturday, and Christian Stander.

Conor Murray (No.9) and Johnny Sexton (No.10) fill the halfback positions, while Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne continue their midfield partnership.

The back three sees Rob Kearney at fullback, with Andrew Trimble and Simon Zebo on the wings.

Paddy Jackson is named in the replacements, having started against Canada, while Iain Henderson also returns to the squad on the bench.

The other replacements are Sean Cronin, Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, Josh van der Flier, Kieran Marmion and Garry Ringrose.

Ireland: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Andrew Trimble, 13 Jared Payne, 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Johnny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip, 7 Sean O'Brien, 6 Christian Stander, 5 Devin Toner, 4 Donnacha Ryan, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Rory Best (captain), 1 Jack McGrath.
Replacements: 16 Sean Cronin, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Iain Henderson, 20 Josh van der Flier, 21 Kieran Marmion, 22 Paddy Jackson, 23 Garry Ringrose.

Date: Saturday, November 19
Venue: Aviva Stadium, Dublin
Kick-off: 17.30 (17.30 GMT; 06.30 NZDT Sunday, November 20)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Ian Davies (Wales)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)