Ireland change six for Japan

Thu, 22 Jun 2017 08:19
Large joe schmidt media 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has made six changes to the side that will take on Japan at the Ajinomoto Stadium in Tokyo on Saturday.

Captain Rhys Ruddock lines out on the blindside flank and is joined in the back row by Jack Conan at No.8 and Josh van der Flier at openside.   

Devin Toner is paired with Kieran Treadwell in the second row while James Tracy comes in at hooker in a front row that also contains Cian Healy and John Ryan.
Kieran Marmion returns to his more accustomed role at scrumhalf to partner Paddy Jackson at flyhalf.

Luke Marshall comes back in having started against the United States play alongside Garry Ringrose in midfield.

Simon Zebo' absents forces Andrew Conway to switch from right wing to fullback. Zebo picked a minor injury during the side's 50-22 victory over the USA.

Keith Earls fills his regular spot at left wing while Jacob Stockdale slot in at the right.

Ireland: 15 Andrew Conway, 14 Keith Earls, 13 Garry Ringrose, 12 Luke Marshall, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 Jack Conan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Rhys Ruddock (captain), 5 Devin Toner, 4 Kieran Treadwell, 3 John Ryan, 2 James Tracy, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Niall Scannell, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 James Ryan, 20 Sean Reidy, 21 John Cooney, 22 Rory Scannell, 23 Tiernan O'Halloran

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Ajinomoto Stadium, Tokyo
Kick-off: 14.40 (05.40 GMT; 06.40 Ireland Time)
Referee: JP Doyle (England)
Assistant referees: Mathieu Raynal (France), Alex Ruiz (France)
TMO: Glenn Newman (New Zealand)