Hansen, Jones on World Rugby awards shortlist

Tue, 01 Nov 2016 21:18

NEWS: New Zealand's Steve Hansen and England's Eddie Jones were among the nominees shortlisted for the annual World Rugby awards.

The pair will be vying for the Coach of the Year award along with Ben Ryan, the Englishman who guided Fiji to their first Olympic gold medal in any sport when the Pacific Islanders triumphed as Sevens made its Games debut in Rio.

New Zealand, since winning the World Cup under Hansen last year, have remained unbeaten and recently set a new record for a major or tier-one Rugby Union nation of 18 successive Test victories.

But England, who were the first host nation to suffer a first-round exit as they crashed out early from their own World Cup, have won all nine of their Tests since Australian coach Jones took over after the global showpiece, a run that includes a Six Nations Grand Slam and a 3-0 series win in Australia.

New Zealand, England and Fiji Sevens are the three sides nominated for the Team of the Year award.

Meanwhile, the All Blacks duo of Anton Lienert-Brown and Ardie Savea will compete with 21-year-old England lock Maro Itoje for the Breakthrough Player of the Year award.

South Africa's Seabelo Senatla is one of three nominees for World Rugby’s Sevens Player of the Year Award. 
Senatla, who scored 66 tries in the 2015/16 Sevens Series, was on the shortlist alongside Virimi Vakatawa (France) and Osea Kolinisau (Fiji).
The shortlist for the World Player of the Year title is due to be announced on November 7, with all the awards to be presented at London's Hilton Metropole hotel on November 13.

Awards shortlist

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year:
Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year :
Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year:
Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year:
Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

IRPA Try of the Year:
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)

World Rugby Referee Award:
Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Agence France-Presse & @WorldRugby