Black Ferns dominate NZ Rugby Awards

Thu, 14 Dec 2017 10:33
Large black ferns 2017 800

AWARDS: The Black Ferns dominated the New Zealand Rugby Awards on Thursday. 

The Black Ferns have been named Team of the Year for the first time ever, topping off a successful awards ceremony for the World Champions and women's rugby.

The five-time World Champions were named Team of the Year, adding to the World Rugby Team of the Year title they secured in Monaco at the World Rugby Awards earlier this month.

Black Ferns coach Glenn Moore was named the Coach of the Year, for his leadership in a World Cup campaign that captured the hearts of a nation, all while dropping only one match throughout the year.  

Star wing Portia Woodman's exceptional try for the Black Ferns against the USA at the World Cup was voted by the public as the Fan's Try of the Year.

Meanwhile, lock Samuel Whitelock was crowned New Zealand's Men's Player of the Year.

Whitelock picked up two awards - he was also crowned New Zealand's Super Rugby Player of the Year after his performances for the Crusaders.

All Blacks Sevens legend DJ Forbes also collected two awards with the Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year and the NZRPA Kirk Award.

Black Fern loose forward and Black Ferns Sevens captain Sarah Goss was named the New Zealand Rugby Women's Player of the Year after a World Cup campaign where she started every match. She adds this title to the Best Female Athlete in Oceania at the ANOC (Association of Olympic Committee) Awards in Prague last month. 

Her Black Ferns Sevens teammate Ruby Tui was named Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year. Tui's powerful and aggressive game was at its best in 2017, also earning her a nomination for World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year.

2017 New Zealand Rugby Awards winners:

Fan's Try of the Year:
Portia Woodman (Black Ferns)

NZRPA Kirk Award:
DJ Forbes

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year:
Sid Tatana (Wairarapa Bush)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year:
Ben O’Keeffe (Wellington)

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year:
Asafo Aumua (Wellington)

Heartland Championship Player of the Year:
Scott Cameron (Horowhenua Kapiti)

Richard Crawshaw Memorial All Blacks Sevens Player of the Year:
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)

Black Ferns Sevens Player of the Year:
Ruby Tui (Canterbury)

Duane Monkley Medal:
Jack Goodhue (Northland)

Fiao’o Fa’amausili Medal:
Hazel Tubic (Counties Manukau)

Super Rugby Player of the Year:
Samuel Whitelock (Crusaders)

Tom French Memorial Māori Player of the Year:
Rieko Ioane (Ngāpuhi / Te Whānau ā Apanui)

Salver for an Outstanding Contribution to New Zealand Rugby:
Wayne Smith

Coach of the Year:
Glenn Moore (Black Ferns)

New Zealand Rugby Women's Player of the Year:
Sarah Goss (Manawatu)

Kelvin R Tremain Memorial Player of the Year:
Sam Whitelock 

Team of the Year:
Black Ferns