BaaBaas load up on South Africans for Boks

Wed, 02 Nov 2016 17:18

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: South Africa will face four of their compatriots in the Barbarians starting line-up in Saturday's game at Wembley.

Western Province flyhalf Robert du Preez, Lions hooker Armand van der Merwe, Hurricanes prop Reggie Goodes and Lions lock Martin Muller all start against their fellow countrymen.

There are two more South Africans on the bench - former Lions prop Schalk van der Merwe, recently signed with the Southern Kings, and Lions utility forward Ruan Ackermann.

There are seven internationals in the squad - with New Zealand's 2011 World Cup winner Andy Ellis captaining the side.

Ellis was a member of the Barbarians side that beat South Africa in 2010 to take a 4-3 lead in their head-to-head matches.

"It was a pretty special moment beating South Africa last time," said Ellis.

"It's a beautiful thing. You make friendships. I'm still in touch with the guys I played with in 2010.

"This new team has come together, we're getting on well and we're having fun and now it's just about fronting up and making sure we perform at the weekend.

"We understand how proud the Barbarians are and we've got a real job to do here.

"The guys want to play for themselves, for the club, for their families - all sorts of different motivations but we're in a pretty good place. Boks taking on the Boks helps. They'll certainly want to prove themselves," added the 32-year-old scrumhalf.

Barbarians: 15 Melani Nanai, 14 Matt Faddes, 13 Seta Tamanivalu, 12 Richard Buckman, 11 Taqele Naiyaravoro, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Andy Ellis (captain), 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Jordan Taufua, 6 Brad Shields, 5 Michael Fatialofa, 4 Martin Muller, 3 Paddy Ryan, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Reggie Goodes.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Toby Smith, 19 Sam Carter, 20 Ruan Ackermann, 21 Nic Stirzaker, 22 Richard Mo'unga, 23 Luke Morahan.

Date: Saturday, November 5
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London
Kick-off: 15.30 (17.30 SA time; 15.30 GMT)
Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

Agence France-Presse