Lambie to start at flyhalf

Thu, 03 Nov 2016 15:15

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Patrick Lambie will play at flyhalf when he leads the Springboks against the Barbarians in London on Saturday.

Lambie, who was named as captain earlier in the week, returns to the No.10 jersey - after playing at fullback in the last two Rugby Championship Tests.

Lambie will lead a new-look Springbok team, which includes six uncapped players in the starting line-up and a number of Currie Cup stars.

The uncapped players are wings Sergeal Petersen and Jamba Ulengo, centres Francois Venter and Rohan Janse van Rensburg, flank Roelof Smit and Rudolf Snyman.

The uncapped players on the bench are prop Lizo Gqoboka, loose forward Jean-Luc du Preez and flyhalf Tiaan Schoeman.

However, no Test caps will be awarded for this international fixture.

Tendai Mtawarira (prop), Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock) and Teboho Mohoje (flank) are the only players in the pack that started for the Springboks in their demoralising 15-57 loss to the All Blacks in Durban last month.

There is a return to the starting team for Lourens Adriaanse in the No.3 jersey in place of Vincent Koch, who is not available for this match, while Julian Redelinghuys is injured.

Snyman will partner Du Toit, the South African Rugby Player of the Year, in the second row.

Openside flank Smit comes in for the injured Francois Louw, while Jaco Kriel could also not be considered as a result of his injury.

The final change in the pack will see Nizaam Carr taking over the No.8 jersey from Warren Whiteley, who is also not available for this match.

The Boks will start with a revamped halfback pairing in Rudy Paige (scrumhalf) and new skipper Lambie (flyhalf), with the regular captain, Adriaan Strauss, not in the matchday 23 as part of the succession planning in his position.

The rest of the backline consists of Ulengo, Janse van Rensburg, Venter, Petersen and Jesse Kriel, who will start his first match for the Boks at fullback.

The Springboks have played the Barbarians seven time, with the BaaBaas leading by four wins to three.

South Africa: 15 Jesse Kriel, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Jamba Ulengo, 10 Patrick Lambie (captain), 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Roelof Smit, 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4 Rudolf Snyman, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Eben Etzebeth, Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Piet van Zyl, 22 Tiaan Schoeman, 23 Ruan Combrinck.

Date: Saturday, November 5
Venue: Wembley Stadium, London
Kick-off: 15.30 (17.30 SA time; 15.30 GMT)
Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Paul Williams (New Zealand), Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)