Carr gets Bok start in Florence

Thu, 17 Nov 2016 12:07

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The return of veteran wing Bryan Habana is one of three changes to the Springbok starting XV to face Italy in Florence on Saturday.

Habana returns from injury and replaces JP Pietersen on the wing in the only backline change.

The other changes are the result of the concussion suffered by lock Eben Etzebeth in the loss to England last week.

Pieter-Steph du Toit moves from flank to lock in the spot vacated by Etzebeth's injury, while Nizaam Carr comes into the starting XV on the flank.

Coach Allister Coetzee also made three changes to the bench - with prop Trevor Nyakane, loose forward Teboho Mohoje and flyhalf Elton Jantjies all returning to the matchday 23.

Coetzee said Habana is fully fit after it was decided not to select him against England.
"It was the right decision not to risk Bryan at Twickenham," the coach said, adding: "He has been training hard all week and without any discomfort, so he is good to go.
"Pieter-Steph has an impressive workrate and I am expecting him to deliver the same at No.4 against a lively Italian pack of forwards.

"With him moving to lock, we felt Nizaam was the right person to start in the No.6 jersey as he did well when he came off the bench against England. Apart from his speed, he also makes the right decisions at the breakdown.
"Apart from the few changes, we have gone for continuity, taking into account that this current squad have only been together for one week before the match against England.

Meanwhile, prop Tendai Mtawarira will play in his 90th match in the Springbok jersey and will earn his 86th Test cap for South Africa.

South Africa: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Rudy Paige, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Trevor Nyakane, 19 Franco Mostert, 20 Teboho Mohoje, 21 Francois de Klerk, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 Johan Goosen.

Date: Saturday, November 19
Venue: Stadio Artemio Franchi, Florence
Kick-off: 15.00 (14.00 GMT; 16.00 SA Time)
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), David Wilkinson (Ireland)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)