Coetzee brings back French Boks

Tue, 23 May 2017 09:48
Large duane vermeulen springboks h s 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Springbok head coach Allister Coetzee has called up a few experienced overseas-based players for their three-Test series against France in June.

France-based stars No.8 Duane Vermeulen, utility back Francois Steyn and prop Steven Kitshoff will be back in the green gold. Francois Hougaard, who plays for Worcester Warriors in England, has also been included in the squad.

The national selectors also recalled experienced players Jan Serfontein, Coenie Oosthuizen and Mahlatse Ralepelle. 

Warren Whiteley has been named the 58th Springbok captain and will lead a Springbok squad, which includes eight uncapped players.

Of the eight uncapped players in the squad, six are backs and two play in the forwards. They are Lukhanyo Am, Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Dillyn Leyds, Raymond Rhule, Courtnall Skosan, Ruan Dreyer and Lizo Gqoboka.

Four of these, Rhule, Cronje, Dreyer and Gqoboka have previously toured with the Boks, but are yet to play in a Test match for South Africa.

The Springboks will face France on Saturday, June 10 at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria, followed by Tests at Kings Park in Durban (June 17) and Ellis Park in Johannesburg (June 27).

The 31-man Springbok squad will assemble on Monday, May 29 for a week-long camp in Plettenberg Bay before moving camp to Pretoria where they will fine-tune final preparations for the first Test.
Steyn, who plays for French side Montpellier and was a member of the 2007 Rugby World Cup winning squad, last featured in a Springbok Test in 2012, while Ralepelle is back in the Bok squad after four years – his last Test was in 2013.

Serfontein was injured and missed the entire 2016 season, while Oosthuizen, who played in 23 Tests between 2012 and 2015, is also back in the squad having fully recovered from his injuries.

Vermeulen featured in only two Tests in 2016 before suffering an injury during the home series against Ireland, while Hougaard returns after missing the tour to the United Kingdom and Italy at the end of 2016 because of injury.

Coetzee said he was satisfied with the composition of the group, which has a good balance of promising newcomers and experienced players. He also explained the decision to reward Whiteley with the captaincy.

"Warren has been one of the outstanding leaders in South African rugby for many years," said Coetzee.

"He is respected by his team-mates and opposition alike and has a lot of experience when it comes to captaincy, having led the Lions with great authority for many seasons. He is resilient, copes well under pressure and makes good decisions.

"The national selectors have rewarded form and we are looking forward to face the French team next month. I am confident the players will do the jersey and our country proud," said Coetzee.

"A Lot of hard work has been done since the start of the season to make sure we improve as a team. The collaboration and spirit showed at the various indabas and other gatherings are proof that we are moving in the right direction.

"The three preseason training camps gave us the chance to have a close look at a number of players, especially those who haven't been involved with the Springboks previously. We were also kept abreast of the form and the progress of the overseas-based group of players," added Coetzee.
The third training camp finished in Johannesburg on Tuesday, with Coetzee emphasising the importance of the training camps.

I want to especially thank the franchise and conditioning coaches for their contribution towards the success of the training camps,” according to the Bok coach.

Flyhalf Patrick Lambie is still symptomatic following his concussion. After discussions with the player and the medical teams of both the Springboks and the Sharks, it was decided not to consider him for selection for the Springbok squad.

Apart from Lambie, the following players were not considered for Springbok and SA 'A' selection because of injury, or as stated otherwise: Jacobus van Rensburg (prop, Stormers), Julian Redelinghuys (prop, Lions), Francois Louw (flank, Bath, UK), Roelof Smit (flank, Bulls), Marcell Coetzee (flank, Ulster, Ireland), Handré Pollard (flyhalf, Bulls), Jean-Luc du Plessis (flyhalf, Stormers), Kurt Coleman (flyhalf, Stormers), Robert du Preez (flyhalf, Stormers), Howard Mnisi (centre, Lions), Rohan Janse van Rensburg (centre, Lions), Nico Lee (centre, Cheetahs), Leolin Zas (wing, Stormers), Curwin Bosch (flyhalf, Sharks, Junior Springboks), André Esterhuizen (centre, Sharks, suspended) and Rudolph Snyman (lock, Bulls, suspended).

Springbok squad:

Forwards: Lodewyk de Jager, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Ruan Dreyer, Eben Etzebeth, Steven Kitshoff, Siyamthanda Kolisi, Jaco Kriel, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Bongi Mbonambi, Teboho Mohoje, Francois Mostert, Tendai Mtawarira, Lizo Gqoboka, Mahlatse Ralepelle, Coenie Oosthuizen. Duane Vermeulen, Warren Whiteley (captain)
Backs: Lukhanyo Am, Andries Coetzee, Ross Cronje, Damian de Allende, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Jesse Kriel, Dillyn Leyds, Rudy Paige, Raymond Rhule, Jan Serfontein, Courtnall Skosan, Francois Steyn.