The alternative Boks

Wed, 25 Oct 2017 13:43
Large duane vermeulen springboks h s 800

OPINION: Soon Allister Coetzee will name his team for the year-end tour. rugby365 selects an alternative team from players based abroad. Who do you think will win?

Our selection criteria are simple - the player has to be a Springbok already and must be based abroad.

Injured players were considered, as long as they haven't retired.

15 Gio Aplon
 14 Ruan Combrinck
13 Lionel Mapoe
12 Wynand Olivier
11 Francois Hougaard
10 Patrick Lambie
9 Francois de Klerk
8 Ryan Kankowski
 7 Duane Vermeulen (captain)
6 Heinrich Brüssow
5 Andries Bekker
4 Flip van der Merwe
3 Pat Cilliers
2 Ashley Johnson
1 Vincent Koch
16 Schalk Brits
' 17 Marcel van der Merwe
18 Jannie du Plessis
19 Marcell Coetzee
20 Juandre Kruger
21 Ruan Pienaar
22 Frans Steyn
23 Cheslin Kolbe

Additional squad members: Lourens Adriaanse, Bismarck du Plessis, Willem Alberts, Ricky Januarie, Cobus Reinach, Bryan Habana, Lwazi Mvovo, Juan De Jongh, Jon-Paul Pietersen, Willie le Roux, Ricky Januarie, Cobus Reinach.