Team of the Week: Out of the starting blocks

Tue, 20 Feb 2018 09:19
Large aphiwe dyantyi lions v sharks 2018 800

OPINION: There were only two games in Round One of Super Rugby, which means only there were four teams to pick from for our first Team of the Week.

Players from the Lions and the Stormers dominate our selection after their wins against the Sharks and the Jaguares.

In the backline, we have Dillyn Leyds, Seabelo Senatla and Aphiwe Dyantyi in our back three. Our midfield consists of Lionel Mapoe and Damian De Allende.

Robert du Preez is our flyhalf, while Ross Cronje comes in at No.9.

Nizaam Carr is our choice at No.8 with Siyamthanda Kolisi and Cyle Brink completing our back row.

In the second row, we have John Schickerling at No.5 and Ruan Botha at No.4.

Nahuel Tétaz Chaparro, Malcolm Marx and Jacques van Rooyen make up our front row.

Team of the Week - Round One:

15 - Dillyn Leyds (Stormers)
He exposed the Jaguares' defensive frailties with ease, His overall work rate was good.
Bubbling under: Andries Coetzee (Lions)

14 - Seabelo Senatla (Stormers)
The Sevens star seemed to make another seamless transition into the XV-man game. He used his speed to good effect out wide against the Jaguares.
Bubbling under: Sibusiso Nkosi (Sharks)

13 - Lionel Mapoe (Lions)
Scored two great tries in the win over the Sharks. He showed great awareness on attack and he was solid on defence.
Bubbling under: EW Viljoen (Stormers)

12 - Damian de Allende (Stormers)
He missed a few tackles on defence. However, he was effective with ball in hand and he scored one of his team's tries.
Bubbling under: Andre Esterhuizen (Sharks)

11 - Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions)
It was a memorable Suoer Rugby debut for the youngster. His try in the first half against the Sharks is a perfect example of individual brilliance.
Bubbling under: Raymond Rhule (Stormers)

10 - Robert du Preez (Sharks)
There was not a lot wrong with his performance against the Lions. He got great distance with his kicking and he broke through the Lions defence on a few occasions on attack. He also got a five-pointer.
Bubbling under: Damian Willemse (Stormers)

9 - Ross Cronje (Lions)
He was better than all the other scrumhalves on display this weekend. He made good decisions and provided his backline with efficient service.
Bubbling under: Gonzalo Bertranou (Jaguares)

8 - Nizaam Carr (Stormers)
He was immense in open play for the Stormers. He carried the ball strongly and got his side over the gain-line on numerous occasions. He never missed a tackle on defence.
Bubbling under: Tomás Lezana (Jaguares)

7 - Cyle Brink (Lions)
It was an impressive showing from the loose forward. He made himself a nuisance at the breakdowns and he was a hard man to bring down in open play.
Bubbling under: Cobus Wiese (Stormers)

6 - Siyamthanda Kolisi (Stormers)
He put his body on the line in defence and he evaded a number of Jaguares' defenders to score a remarkable try.
Bubbling under: Albertus Smith (Lions)

5 - John Schickerling (Stormers)
With Eben Etzebeth and Pieter-Steph du Toit not playing, all eyes were on him and he certainly delivered. He imposed himself with ball in hand and he tackled like a man possessed.
Bubbling under: Tomás Lavanini (Jaguares)

4 - Ruan Botha (Sharks)
He stole a few line-out balls from the Lions and his physicality helped the Sharks up front.
Bubbling under: Matias Alemanno (Jaguares)

3 - Nahuel Tétaz Chaparro (Jaguares)
Besides the scrums, he got into the thick of things in open play against the Stormers and he has some good skills for a big guy.
Bubbling under: Wilco Louw (Stormers)

2 - Malcolm Marx (Lions)
He struggled to find his jumpers in the line-outs, but it was his work around the field that caught our selectors' attention.
Bubbling under: Agustin Creevy (Jaguares)

1 - Jacques van Rooyen (Lions)
He was a monster in the scrums, which laid the platform for the Lions' victory over the Sharks.
Bubbling under: Steven Kitshoff (Stormers)

Our individual selections:

Paul Dobson XV: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Ruan Botha, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.

Leezil Hendricks XV: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Robert Du Preez, 9 Cameron White, 8 Tomás Lezana, 7 Cobus Wiese, 6 Siyamthanda Kolisi, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Ruan Botha, 3 Nahuel Tétaz Chaparro, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen.

Warren Fortune XV: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Seabelo Senatla, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Nizaam Carr, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Albertus Smith, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Ruan Botha, 3 Nahuel Tétaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Steven Kitshoff.