South Africa


Kings pay Leopards' asking price

The Eastern Province Kings have, after extended negotiations with the Leopards, secured the services of up-and-coming backline stars Luther Obi and Sylvian Mahuza.

Read More »

Toulouse end banned Bok's contract

Hooker Mahlatse Ralepelle has had his contracted ended early by Toulouse as the Springbok's doping hearing approaches in March.

Read More »

Boland keep their President

Ivan Pekeur has been re-elected as the President of the Boland Rugby Union.

Read More »

Mouneimne heads back to Europe

Recently re-appointed EP Kings defensive coach, Omar Mouneimne has parted ways with the team to take up a consultancy position at Lyon in France.

Read More »

Kings key to SARU transformation

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Jan de Koning chatted to SARU CEO Jurie Roux about the role of the Kings in transformation and bringing black Africans through.

Read More »

Merit at end of transformation rainbow

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Jan de Koning spoke to SARU CEO Jurie Roux about the famed Strategic Transformation Plan and so-called quotas.

Read More »

SARU Strategic Transformation Plan

The Strategic Transformation Plan (STP) of the South African Rugby Union was the culmination of two years' hard work and consultation.

Read More »

Tuks lay down a big marker

WRAP: Table-topping UP-Tuks made a big statement with a comprehensive 53-8 victory over three-time Varsity Cup champions Maties in Pretoria on Monday.

Read More »

Derby day in the the Varsity Cup

The third round of the Varsity Cup on Monday will feature four intense rivalries including the first-ever Bloemfontein derby .

Lyon chasing Kings' coach

EP Rugby CEO Charl Crous confirmed reports that Kings defence coach Omar Mouneimne has been approached by French team Lyon.

Tuks sink champs to go top

UP-Tuks beat defending champions UCT to move to the top of the Varsity Cup standings after Round Two.

SARU hosting African leaders

SARU will host the Leading Rugby Programme for Africa rugby administrators in Cape Town from February 17-19.

Boks dropping like flies

We are just one week into the Super Rugby season and there is already a lengthy list of Springboks sidelined by injury.

Smit: It is all about Bok selection

World Cup-winning former Springbok captain John Smit says the class of 2015 will be one of the favourites to lift the William Webb Ellis trophy.

Lambie backs SARU Bok masterplan

Pat Lambie feels that SARU's initiative to rest Springboks during the Super Rugby campaign will benefit both the national team and the bigger franchises.

Varsity Cup quick on the draw

There were two thrilling draws in an intense opening round of Varsity Cup action on Monday.

Super break for Boks

The game time of a number of key Springboks will be managed throughout the Super Rugby series in the coming months.

Vermeulen sweeps SARU awards

Duane Vermeulen was the star of the annual Player of the Year Awards when he walked off with three awards, including the main award.