SA Schools teams announced

Thu, 21 Jul 2016 22:43
Large salmaan moerat wp craven week 800

SARU has announced the SA Schools and SA Schools A teams for an international series next month.

England, France, Italy and Wales will joining the South African teams for three matches on each of three playing days.

Salmaan Moerat of Paarl Boys' High, who played for SA Schools in 2015 and was the captain of the highly successful Western Province team at Craven Week, will captain the SA Schools side.

Western Province are the province who have most players in the SA Schools side (13) and Paarl Boys' High is the school that has most players in the SA Schools side (8).

Centre Louritz van der Schyff of Affies is the captain of the SA Schools A (second) team.

The six squads will each have 26 players.

Apart from Moerat, six players played for SA Schools in 2015 - Manny Rass, Damian Willemse, Khanya Ncusane, PJ Steenkamp, Wandisile Simelane and Kwezi Mafu. In addition Abner van Reenen, who played for SA Schools A last year, is back in the A side this year. Cabous Eloff who played for SA Schools last year is in the SA Schools A side this year.
The two SA Schools squads assemble at Newlands on Sunday, August 7 stop start their preparations the next day.


Backs: Emilio Adonis (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls), Ruan de Swardt (Affies, Blue Bulls), Muller du Plessis (Paarl Gym, Western Province), Richman Gora (Welkom Gymnasium, Griffons), Rewan Kruger (Grey Bloem, Free State), Gianni Lombard (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), Mike Mavovana (Rondebosch, Western Province), Sihle Njezula (Grey PE, Eastern Province), Rikus Pretorius (Grey Bloem, Free State), Manuel Rass (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), Wandisile Simelane (Jeppe, Golden Lions), Damian Willemse (Paul Roos, Western Province).
Forwards: Reece Bezuidenhout (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), PJ Botha (Monument, Golden Lions), Ben-Jason Dixon (Paul Roos, Western Province), Daniel Jooste (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), Kwezi Mafu (Grey PE, Eastern Province), Nathan McBeth (Monument, Golden Lions), Salmaan Moerat (captain) (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), Khanya Ncusane (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), Johan Neethling (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), JC Pretorius (HTS Middelburg Pumas), Sanzi Sandi (St Andrew's, Eastern Province Country Districts), Charl Serdyn (Paarl Boys' High, Western Province), PJ Steenkamp (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls), Muller Uys (Paarl Gym, Western Province).

SA Schools A

Backs: Zinedine Booysen (Oakdale, South Western Districts), Tadendaishe Mujawo (St Benedict’s, Golden Lions), Sanele Nohamba (DHS, KwaZulu Natal), Ayabonga Oliphant (Grey PE, Eastern Province), Sicelo Tole (Muir, Eastern Province), Louritz van der Schyff (Affies, Blue Bulls) (captain), Abner van Reenen (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls), Austin Davids (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls), Lubabalo Dobela (Grey PE, Eastern Province), Tyrone Green (Jeppe, Golden Lions), Janco van Heyningen (Grey Bloem, Free State), Cameron Hufke (Noord-Kaap, Griquas).
Forwards: Cabous Eloff (Affies, Blue Bulls), Schalk Erasmus (Affies, Blue Bulls), Keagan Glade (KES, Golden Lions), Gugu Nelani (Northwood, KwaZulu Natal), Christopher Havenga (Monument, Golden Lions), Jessie Johnson (Paul Roos, Western Province), Athi Magwala (Boland Landbou, Western Province), Ryno Pieterse (Garsfontein, Blue Bulls), Dylan Richardson (Kearsney, KZN), Dian Schoonees (Grey Bloem, Free State), Mornay Smith (Eldoraigne, Blue Bulls), Mark Snyman (Helpmekaar, Golden Lions), Jaco van Tonder (Grey Bloem, Free State), JJ van der Mescht (Glenwood, KZN).

Representation by Province

SA Schools
Blue Bulls 3
Eastern Province: 3
Free State: 2
Golden Lions: 2
Griffons: 1
Pumas: 1
Western Province: 13

SA Schools A
Blue Bulls: 7
Eastern Province: 3
Free State: 3
Golden Lions: 5
Griquas: 1
KwaZulu Natal: 4
South Western Districts: 1
Western Province: 2
Under-18 International Fixtures
Friday, August 12 at City Park Stadium, Cape Town

13.00: France vs England
14.30: SA Schools A vs Italy
16.00: SA Schools vs Wales
Tuesday, August 16 at Bishops
13.00: Wales vs Italy
14.30: SA Schools A vs England
16.00: SA Schools vs France
Saturday, August 20 at Paarl Boys' High
13.00: France vs Italy
14.30: SA Schools A vs Wales
16.00: SA Schools vs England