SA Schools A just too good for England

Tue, 16 Aug 2016 14:34
Large ryno pieterse 800

REPORT: SA Schools A redeemed their Day one performance by securing a 53-14 win over England on Day two of the Under-19 International Series.

SA Schools A ran in eight of the ten tries scored in the match with Schalk Erasmus and Ryno Pieterse each scoring a brace, respectively.

In the opening stages of the match, England looked the more likely to score but over eagerness resulted in a penalty which shifted the match to SA Schools A.

After playing most of the rugby on the England 5 metre line, SA Schools A registered the first points on the board thanks to a try by Janco van Heyningen. Tyrone Green skipped past two defenders and gave a great pass to Van Heyningen who just had to bounce over the try-line. And six minutes of play Abner van Reenen added the extras to give SA Schools A the 7-0 lead.

England again found themselves on the back foot as they conceded a penalty inside their own 22. Van Reenen took full advantage as he slotted SA School A into double figures, 10-0.

As 20 minutes passed England put on a gutsy attack and found themselves on the SA Schools A five metre line. However, with too many passes among the backline Van Heyningen put a halt on all proceedings as intercepted the ball, but the try-scorer ran out of gas and England survived yet another SA School A onslaught.

A minute later England looked to have scored a possible try, however, the TMO ruled Ben Loader lost the ball forward and the score remained, 10-0 to SA School A.

SA Schools A intercepted another pass and this time they made full use of England's mistake. Speedster Austin Davids scored and while Tyrone Green added the extra two points 17-0.

Winning another penalty, the SA Schools A opted to kick to touch which proved valuable as the third try was scored by Schalk Erasmus, thanks to a rolling maul the hooker burst over the try-line, 22-0.

With two minutes to go England finally registered some points on the board thanks to captain Gabriel Ibitoye. On the stroke of halftime flyhalf, Tom Parton stepped up to convert his side's only try of the first half.

SA Schools A heads to the halftime with a 22-7 advantage.

The hosts continued the second half with same intend. The wing Tadendaishe Mujawo went down in the corner after collecting a loose ball which bounced so kindly inside England's 22.

As 40 minutes passed England just seemed frustrated as their struggled to hold onto the ball and kept on giving away easy penalties inside their own 22.  In similar fashion, Erasmus scored his second try from a rolling maul, while Green added the extras, 34-7.

A minute later from the restart the big lock Ryno Pieterse saw an opportunity and ran some metres to extend the lead.

England never got a chance to regroup as SA School A backline produced some noteworthy passes to send Ayabonga Oliphant on his way for the host's seventh try. Davids slotted it through the middle with a marvellous kick from the touchline, 46-7.

After 60 minutes of play, the England side scored their second try thanks to replacement James Grayson who went on to convert his own try, to give his side something to celebrate. 14-46.

The celebrations were short lived as Ryno Pieterse visited the try-line for the second time to put the hosts passed the half century. Davids slotted over his second successive kick from the touchline. 53-14 with one minute left of play.

As the clock ticked down 60 seconds England were on the hunt for some consolations points and they indeed went over the try-line unlucky for them the TMO ruled is no try.

And that is how it ended, 53-14 to SA Schools A.


For SA School A:
Janco van Heyningen, Austin Davids, Schalk Erasmus 2, Tadendaishe Mujawo, Ryno Pieterse 2, Ayabonga Oliphant
Cons: Abner van Reenen, Tyrone Green 2, Austin Davids 2
Pen: Abner van Reenen

For England:
Tries: Gabriel Ibitoye, James Grayson
Cons:Tom Parton, James Grayson


SA Schools A: 15 Abner van Reenen, 14 Austin Davids, 13 Janco van Heyningen, 12 Louritz van der Schyff (captain), 11 Tadendaishe Mujawo, 10 Tyrone Green, 9 Zinedine Booysen, 8 Dian Schoonees, 7 Francke Horn, 6 Athi Magwala, 5 JJ van der Mescht, 4 Ryno Pieterse, 3 Keagan Glade, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Cabous Eloff.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Richardson, 17 Gugu Nelani, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Christopher Havenga, 20 Mark Snyman Helpmekaar, 21 Ruan Vermaak, 22 Sanele Nohamba, 23 Lubabalo Dobela, 24 Sicelo Tole, 25 Cameron Hufke, 26 Ayabonga Oliphant.

England: 15 Gabriel Ibitoye, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Oli Morris, 12 Jacob Umaga, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Tom Parton, 9 Harry Simmons, 8 Sam Moore, 7 Ben Curry, 6 Josh Bayliss, 5 Josh Williams, 4 Dino Lamb-Cona, 3 Ehren Painter, 2 Jamie Blamire, 1 Jarod Leat.
Replacements: 16 Henry Walker17 Alex Seville, 18 Ciaran Knight, 19 Ted Hill, 20 Tom Curry, 21 Tom Willis, 22 Rory Brand, 23 James Grayson, 24 Ali Crossdale, 25 Matt Williams, 26 Levi Davis.

Referee: Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Nathan Barry (South Africa), Gabriel Chirnoga (Italy)
TMO: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa)