George goes to Gim

Thu, 18 Aug 2016 12:18

PREVIEW: rugby365 and School Sports Live brings you live streaming of two of South Africa's top rugby teams meeting in Paarl - Paarl Gim and Outeniqua of George.

The match will be streamed live at 12.30 SA time.

Both are coed schools and so when they get together there is more than just rugby. Tennis, chess, hockey and netball are much involved, though the result of the 1st XV match overrides all other achievements of the weekend.

They are not big schools when you count just the boys. In the high school Gim has about 1 200 pupils, Outeniqua 1 630 with a rough 50-50 balance of boys and girls.

This is far fewer than schools like Paul Roos and Paarl Boys' high but more than Oakdale and Boland Landbou.

Size has not dampened their enthusiasm for rugby or lessened their success.

Season so Far

Both schools are ranked on the FNB Top 20 - Paarl Gim in second place, Outeniqua 14th, which means that both have excellent teams this year.

Paarl Gim have lost two of their 16 matches, Outeniqua four of their 13.  Gim have played seven teams ranked on the FNB Top 20, Outeniqua six. Both schools have given Paarl Boys' High their toughest match of the year so far, Gim losing by one point, Outeniqua by two.

Results against Common Opponents

Brackenfell: Gim won 38-24; Outeniqua won 19-3
Drostdy: Gim won 52-0; Outeniqua 17-8
Garsfontein: Gim lost 15-13; Outeniqua lost 35-24
Oakdale: Gim won 41-19; Outeniqua lost 22-3
Paarl Boys' High: Gim lost 26-25; Outeniqua lost 29-27
Stellenberg: Gim won 47-17; Outeniqua won 34-27
Waterkloof: Gim won 35-10; Outeniqua won 10-3


Paarl Gim players are eligible for Western Province, Outeniqua's for South Western Districts.

SA School
Paarl Gim:
Muller du Plessis, Muller Uys who will not be playing on Saturday

Craven Week
Paarl Gim:
Muller du Plessis, Muller Uys
Outeniqua: Darryle Kameel, Lance Lambrecht, Byron Booysen, Louis Meiring, Sean Swart, Franco Boshoff, Damian Bonaparte, Bradley Kiewitz

Academy Week
Paarl Gim:
Wian van Niekerk, Theo Boshoff, Zac Burger, Raymond Nel, Sehan du Toit, Daniel Wessels


Outeniqua: 15 Tristan Fourie, 14 Damian Bonaparte, 13 Bradley Kiewitz, 12 JP Duvenage (captain), 11 Emileo Otto, 10 Darryle Kameel, 9 Aylen Schabbort, 8 Lance Lamprecht, 7 Ruben Coetzee, 6 Stiaan Grobler, 5 Louis Meiring, 4 JP Stopforth, 3 Franco Boshoff, 2 Sean Swart, 1 Joshua Reid
Replacements: 16 Wian Ferreira, 17 Alexander van Biljon, 18 Shaquille Cloete, 19 Byron Booysen, 20 Martin Hartung, 21 Sylvester Hassim, 22 Darren Fortuin, 23 Ishaad Snyman

Paarl Gim: 15 Wian van Zyl, 14 Jan Jordaan, 13 Christopher Willemse, 12 Wian van Niekerk, 11 Ryno Boonzaaier, 10 Theo Boshoff, 9 Zak Burger (captain), 8 Henco Martins, 7 Bryan Buitendag, 6 Janus Swart, 5 Raymond Nel, 4 Adriaan Ludick, 3 Francois Staples, 2 Sehan du Toit, 1 André Booysen

Referee: Bennie Bothma (Western Province Referees' Society)

Rugby Programme for 20 August 2016

JA Kriel Field
09.00: 4th XV
10.10: 3rd XV
11.20: 2nd XV
12.30: 1st XV

Stofberg Field
09.00: Under-16B
10.10: Under-15A
11.10: Under-16A

Oukraal Field
09.00: Under-15C
10.00: Under-16C
11.10: Under-15B

Lemoenkloof Field
09.00: Under-14C
10.00: Under-14A
11.00: Under-14B

Results Down the Years

The two schools first played in 2002. These results are the ones we have managed to discover.

2004: Gim won 23-8
2005: Gim won 25-17
2006: Gim won 13-4
2007: Gim won 22-11
2008: Gim won 37-21
2009: Outeniqua won 18-15
2010: Gim won 38-20
2011: Outeniqua won 14-11
2012: Outeniqua won 30-22
2014: Outeniqua won 23-16