A Farm battle in Riversdal

Thu, 24 Aug 2017 08:55
Large oakdale rugby 800

SCHOOLS PREVIEW: Boland Landbou from Paarl travel to Riversdale to take on Hoër Landbouskool Oakdale on Saturday.

They are small schools in number but have enormous rugby passion, which is evident in their rich rugby history.

Oakdale Landbou have produced four Springbok players; flank Pedrie Wannenburg, centre Meyer Bosman, lock Johann Muller and prop JC Janse van Rensburg. Their latest export is loose forward CJ Stander who has represented Ireland and was picked for the British Lions tour to New Zealand in 2017.

Boland produced their first Springbok in 1984 when prop Attie Strauss was picked for the test series between South Africa and the South American Jaguares.   They produced an additional three Boks; lock Hottie Louw (2002), prop Deon Carstens (2002) and flyhalf Derick Hougaard (2003).

The rivalry between the two best agricultural schools nothing new. The first match was played back in 1987 and the intensity of the competition has never subsided.

In terms of results down the years, Boland do have the upper hand, however, in this fixture home ground advantage plays a huge role.

The hosts head into this encounter on a five-game winning streak. Their recent result against Framesby does give them an extra hop in their step and have even booked them a spot in the Schools Top 20 rankings

However, when it comes to Top 20 opposition, Oakdale have failed to perform. They played five sides ranked in the Top 20 and have suffered five losses.

Boland Landbou have always been a constant presence in the Top 20, the schools currently occupy the 13th position and securing a win could propel them into the Top 10.

Results against common opponents:
Framesby: Oakdale won 24-17; Boland lost 16-19
Paul Roos: Oakdale lost 10-27; Boland lost 33-24
Paarl Boys' High: Oakdale lost 36-31; Boland lost 38-33
Garsfontein: Oakdale won 40-19; Boland lost 41-43
Monument: Oakdale lost 8-32; Boland won 24-22


Oakdale players are eligible for South Western District teams, while Boland players are eligible for Western Province teams.

: Janco Klinck, Jaycee Nell, Clude Lees, Laian Du Toit, JC Lourens, Daniel van der Berg, SP Kleynhans, Dian Bleuler, Keano Hendricks, Nicolai Weber, Magnus Muller, Hanu Heunis.
Boland: Duren Hoffmann

Academy week:
Pieter Uys, Luke Hertz, Joaquin Taute, Hannes Gous, Pieter Ferreira, Henco Beukes.
Boland: Hermand Le Roux, Albert Coetzee


Oakdale: 15 Pietie Uys, 14 Marcel Neethling, 13 Etienne Steyn, 12 Jay-Cee Nel (captain), 11 Joaquin Taute, 10 Clyde Lewis, 9 Lian Du Toit, 8 Le Roux Pepler, 7 Henco Beukes, 6 SP Kleinhans, 5 Daniel van der Berg, 4 Hannes Gous, 3 Magnus Muller, 2 Keono Hendricks, 1 Dian Bleuler.
Replacements: 16 Nicolai Weber, 17 Michael Cronje, 18 Wilhelm Durr, 19 Nian Pretorius, 20 Bertus de Bod, 21 Derick Jooste, 22 Neil Hugo, 23 Robert Bosch.

Boland: 15 Luthet McKay, 14 Hanro van der Merwe, 13 Sabastian de Klerk, 12 Francois du Toit, 11 Erik Lambrecht, 10 Darren Hendricks, 9 Gavin Mills, 8 Armand Adendorff, 7 Franco Venter, 6 Thus Kitshoff, 5 Herman Le Roux (captain), 4 Marko van Niekerk, 3 Christiaan Olivier, 2 Tiaan Drotskie, 1 Albert Coetzee.
Replacements: 16 Jandre Britz, 17 Jako Agenbag, 18 Schalk Bezuidenhout, 19 Henro Meyer, 20 George Beukes, 21 Machant Loubser, 22 JG Basson, 23 Duren Hoffman, 24 Dean Reichert.

Saturday's Rugby Programme:

De Eike-Field:
08.30: Under-15A
09.45: Third XV
11.00: Under-16A
12.15: Second XV
14.00: First XV

De Tuine
08.30: Under-16B
09.40: Under-16D
10.50: Under-14A
11.50: Under16C

08.30: Under-14B
09.30: Under-14E
10.30: Under-14D
11.30: Under-14C

Ten Damme
08.30: Under-15D
09.30: Under-15C
10.30: Under-15B

De Boord
08.30: Fourth XV
09.40: Sixth XV
10.50: Fifth XV

Results Down the Years

1987: Boland Landbou won 11-6
1988: Boland Landbou won 9-0
1989: Oakdale won 7-6
1990: Oakdale won 7-6
1991: Boland Landbou won 18-4
1992: Boland Landbou won 15-6
1993: Oakdale won 26-6
1994: Boland Landbou won 18-11
1995: Oakdale won 19-18
1996: Boland Landbou won 26-0
1997: Oakdale won 26-22
1998: Boland Landbou won 16-12
1999: Draw 23-23
2000: Boland Landbou won 31-7
2001: Boland Landbou won 15-0
2002: Boland Landbou won 14-5
2003: Boland Landbou won 20-12
2004: Boland Landbou won 11-7
2005: Oakdale won 8-6
2006: Boland Landbou won17-0
2007: Boland Landbou won 15-6
2008: Boland Landbou won 16-8
2009: No match because of swine flu
2010: Oakdale won 3-0
2011: Oakdale won 34-3
2012: Boland Landbou won 38-19
2013: Oakdale won 29-10
2014: Boland Landbou won 16-8
2015: Oakdale won 21-12
2016: Boland Landbou won 27-22