Bosch gets pivotal role

Tue, 02 Aug 2016 14:33
Large curwin bosch sharks 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Curwin Bosch will start for the Sharks in their opening Currie Cup Premier Division match against the Pumas at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit.

Utility back Bosch, who represented the Junior Springboks at the World Under-20 Championship in Manchester this year, gets the all-important No.10 jersey in a team which features a number of Super Rugby campaigners

Michael Claassens is at scrumhalf with Odwa Ndungane, Neil Maritz and Sibusiso Sithole in the back three. Andre Esterhuizen and Lukhanyo Am are the two centres.

In the pack, captain Keegan Daniel is joined by Jean-Luc du Preez and Philip van der Walt in the back row. Stephan Lewies and Etienne Oosthuizen make up the second row.

Lourens Adriaanse, Franco Marais and Dale Chadwick will pack down in the front row.

"Starting this campaign on a positive note is priority for us," said Sharks head coach Robert du Preez. "I said at the outset that bringing our fans back is something I am passionate about, and by playing a brand of rugby that is entertaining, but also brings us results, is what we intend to do.

"The Pumas can never be taken lightly and we know they will be up for the challenge on Friday. We have a good mixture of youth and experience, and everyone is keen to get our campaign underway.

"Keegan's leadership record speaks for itself and he will play a mentorship role, with the assistance of the other leaders in our squad."

Sharks: 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 Neil Maritz, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Sibusiso Sithole, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Replacements: 16 Mahlatse Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Ruan Botha, 19 Lubabalo Mtembu, 20 Stefan Ungerer, 21 Inny-Christian Radebe, 22 Heimar Williams.

Date: Friday, August 5
Venue: Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
Kick-off: 19.20 (17.20 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Pro Legoete, Ricus van der Hoven
TMO: Willie Vos

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 30 September 2016
Golden Lions v Sharks 15h00 Johannesburg
EP Kings v Pumas 16h00 Nelspruit
Western Province v Boland 17h10 Cape Town
Dragons v Glasgow Warriors 18h35 Rodney Parade
Connacht v Edinburgh 18h35 Sportsground
Bristol v Saracens 18h45 Ashton Gate
Northampton Saints v Exeter Chiefs 18h45 Franklin's Gardens
Sat, 01 October 2016
Free State Cheetahs v Griquas 12h00 Bloemfontein
Sale Sharks v Leicester Tigers 13h30 AJ Bell Stadium
Gloucester v Bath 14h00 Kingsholm
South Africa v Australia 15h05 Loftus Versfeld
Munster v Zebre 16h00 Thomond Park
Ulster v Ospreys 17h30 Kingspan Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Leinster 18h35 BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park
Cardiff Blues v Cardiff Blues 19h05 Stadio Monigo
Sun, 02 October 2016
Argentina v New Zealand 22h10 Ascoli Piceno
Wasps v Harlequins 13h30 Ricoh Arena
Worcester Warriors v Newcastle Falcons 14h00 Sixways
Tue, 04 October 2016
Edinburgh v Ulster 19h35 BT Murrayfield
Team P W D L Pts
Free State Cheetahs 7 7 0 0 34
Blue Bulls 8 6 0 2 30
Sharks 7 5 0 2 25
Western Province 7 4 0 3 23
Golden Lions 7 4 0 3 22
Griquas 7 4 0 3 20
Boland 7 2 0 5 9
Pumas 7 0 0 7 5
EP Kings 7 0 0 7 1