Province end Sharks' unbeaten run

Sat, 03 Sep 2016 17:02
Large western province v sharks 2016 800

MATCH REPORT: The Sharks' unbeaten run in this year's Currie Cup Premier Division ended when they went down 27-34 to Western Province at Newlands on Saturday.

Province outscored their opponents by five tries to two, with Curwin Bosch's boot keeping the visitors in the match, especially in the first half.  

Western Province made a blistering start to the match when centre Johnny Kotze scythed through the Sharks defence to score the game's first try in the third minute.

The Sharks were able to reduce the deficit via a Bosch penalty a few minutes, but it was the Cape side who were dominating play.

Province then extended their lead in the 11th minute when Sevens star Werner Kok collected the ball after a kick over the Sharks' defence to score his team's second try. Robert du Preez converted for an 11-point lead.

Both Du Preez and Bosch exchanged penalties before the latter added another three points from the kicking tee in the 23rd minute to bring his team within eight points of Province.

The Sharks then showed their class with ball in hand when Jean-Luc du Preez scored their first try of the game. After a strong scrum, the ball went through a number of phases before Du Preez scored an easy try in the corner. Bosch could not convert, but the visitors were within three points of Province. 

Province's ill-discipline continued to let the Sharks back into the game when Bosch converted his fourth penalty from almost 50 metres to levels the scores in the 36th minute.

The Sharks then took the lead two minutes from half-time when Bosch converted another penalty.

Robert du Preez had an opportunity bring Province on level terms going into the break. However, his penalty attempt from far out went agonisingly wide. 

In the second half, Province came out firing and after sustained pressure in the Sharks they took the lead in the 43rd minute.

After a number of attempts at a driving maul in the Sharks' 22, flyhalf Du Preez sent a cross kick, which EW Viljoen gathered above Bosch to score his team's third try.

The Sharks then suffered another blow when Jean-Luc du Preez was yellow carded for a dangerous tackle in the 46th minute.

Province then extended their lead 10 minutes later after a strong driving maul in the Sharks' half resulted in a try for flank Kobus van Wyk, which involved some slick handling by prop JP Smith. Du Preez could not convert, but Province did have a handy seven-point lead.

As the game entered the final 15 minutes, the momentum was fully with Province. After putting the Sharks under pressure again with the maul in the visitors' 22, the ball went wide where flyhalf Du Preez sent a deft grubber for Viljoen, who gathered and scored his second try of the game. Du Preez converted for a 14-point lead.

However, the Sharks were not about to lie down and they were back within seven points of Province when replacement Rhyno Smith dived over for a converted try after some swift backline play deep inside the home side's half.

The Sharks had a few opportunities in the Province half towards the end of the match to try and level matters. However, costly errors in the strike zone handed the home side an important victory.

Man of the Match: Both teams had a few contenders for the award. However, flyhalf Robert du Preez deserves it after setting up a number of his team's tries and for an outstanding kicking game as well.

The scorers:

For Western Province:
Tries: Kotze, Kok, Viljoen 2, Van Dyk
Cons: Du Preez 3
Pen: Du Preez

For Sharks:
Tries: Du Preez, Smith
Con: Bosch
Pens: Bosch 5

Yellow card: Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks, 46 - Dangerous play, tip tackle)


Western Province: 15 Cheslin Kolbe, 14 Werner Kok, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Johnny Kotze, 11 Leolin Zas, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Kobus van Dyk, 6 Stefan Willemse, 5 Chris van Zyl (captain), 4 JD Schickerling, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 1 JC Janse van Rensburg.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Alistair Vermaak, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jan de Klerk, 20 Jurie van Vuuren, 21 Dewaldt Duvenage, 22 Scott van Breda.

Sharks: 15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Sibusiso Sithole, 10 Inny-Christian Radebe, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Keegan Daniel (captain), 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Juan Schoeman.
Replacements: 16 Mahlatse Ralepelle, 17 John-Hubert Meyer, 18 Jean Droste, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Heimar Williams, 22. Rhyno Smith.

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Quinton Immelman, Jaco Kotze
TMO: Marius Jonker

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 23 March 2018
Connacht v Edinburgh 22h00 Sportsground
Munster v Scarlets 22h00 Thomond Park
Dragons v Cheetahs 22h00 Rodney Parade
Ospreys v Leinster 22h00 Liberty Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Ulster 22h00 Cardiff Arms Park
Glasgow Warriors v Zebre 22h00 Scotstoun
Kings v Treviso 22h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Crusaders v Bulls 06h35 Christchurch
Rebels v Sharks 08h45 Melbourne
Bath v Exeter Chiefs 19h45 Recreation Ground
Sat, 24 March 2018
Sunwolves v Chiefs 04h15 Tokyo
Hurricanes v Highlanders 06h35 Wellington
Saracens v Harlequins 15h00 London
London Irish v Gloucester 15h00 Madejski Stadium
Sale Sharks v Worcester Warriors 15h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Stormers v Reds 15h15 Newlands
Newcastle Falcons v Northampton Saints 17h30 Kingston Park
Jaguares v Lions 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sun, 25 March 2018
Leicester Tigers v Wasps 15h00 Welford Road
Sun, 18 March 2018
Waratahs v Rebels 51 | 27
Sat, 17 March 2018
Jaguares v Reds 7 | 18
Wales v France 14 | 13
Lions v Sunwolves 40 | 38
England v Ireland 15 | 24
Stormers v Blues 37 | 20
Italy v Scotland 27 | 29
Brumbies v Sharks 24 | 17
Highlanders v Crusaders 25 | 17
Fri, 16 March 2018
Cardiff Blues v Treviso 31 | 25
Edinburgh v Munster 12 | 6
Chiefs v Bulls 41 | 28
Sun, 11 March 2018
Wales v Italy 38 | 14
Sat, 10 March 2018
Jaguares v Waratahs 38 | 28
France v England 22 | 16
Team P W D L Pts
Sharks 12 10 0 2 47
Western Province 12 7 0 5 37
Golden Lions 12 6 0 6 35
Blue Bulls 12 5 0 7 32
Free State Cheetahs 12 6 0 6 31
Pumas 12 4 0 8 27
Griquas 12 4 0 8 26