Jones is best among peers

Wed, 05 Oct 2016 09:08
Large huw jones wp award 800

WP AWARDS: Scotland international Huw Jones walked away with the coveted Players' Player of the year Award, as well as the Most Promising Back at the 2016 Western Province Rugby Football Union Awards evening Tuesday, October 4.

Lock Pieter-Steph du Toit and hooker Bongi Mbonambi bagged two awards each, although the pair were not present at Newlands as they are in Durban preparing for the Springbok Test against the All Blacks.

On top of the main awards, which recognise the best and most promising players over the season, there were new award categories.

The Composure and Capability Award for the Senior Player was awarded to the individual who showed the most composure and capability under pressure and the Above and Beyond Award went to the player who gave everything on and off the field.

The Bounce Players of the Year went to those who have made a significant improvement in their game.

In his first season at Newlands, Du Toit claimed the Composure and Capability Award and the Most Valuable Player Award, whilst Mbonambi was named the Best Forward and the Bounce Player of the year.

The other senior awards saw Cheslin Kolbe named the Best Back and Kobus van Dyk the Most Promising Forward.

In the Under-21 division, lock David Ribbans claimed the Best Forward award, wing Sibahle Maxwane was voted Best Back and Ryan Oosthuizen was handed the U21 Most Promising Player award. The Above and Beyond Award went to captain Luke Stringer and Edwill van der Merwe claimed the Bounce Player of the Year.

In the table-topping U19 team, the Best Forward went to No.8 Juarno Augustus, Best Back was centre David Brits, flank Nama Xaba was named the Most Promising Player and Zain Davids bagged the Bounce Player of the Year

The School's Player of the Year was Salmaan Moerat, who captained SA Schools this year and the Referee of the Year was awarded to Marius van der Westhuizen.

"Congratulations to all the winners. It was a privilege to be able to pay tribute to everyone who have worked so hard and deserve their rewards.

"The awards showcase the efforts that are being made to ensure that WP Rugby remains top across all levels and we wish our teams the best of luck in the knock-out phase of their respective competitions, as they all chase national titles," WPRFU President, Thelo Wakefield, said.

Currently, the Currie Cup, U19 and U21 teams have all qualified for the knock-out phase of their respective competitions, with the U19 and U21 sides hosting semifinals against their counterparts from the Free State Cheetahs at City Park on Friday, October 14.

The senior team face the Blue Bulls in their semifinal at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday, October 15.

Western Province finished top of the Currie Cup Qualifying standings and went on to secure a seventh consecutive Currie Cup semifinal spot. The U18, U18 Academy and U13 teams all went unbeaten through their respective Youth Weeks, with 13 U18 players named in the SA Schools squad.

All the 2016 individual award winners:

Players Player of the Year: Huw Jones
MVP Award: Pieter-Steph du Toit
Best Forward: Bongi Mbonambi
Best Back: Cheslin Kolbe
Most Promising Senior Forward: Kobus van Dyk
Most Promising Senior Back: Huw Jones
Senior Bounce Player of the Year: Bongi Mbonambi
Composure and Capability Award: Pieter-Steph du Toit
U21 Best Forward: David Ribbans
U21 Best Back: Sibahle Maxwane
U21 Most Promising Player: Ryan Oosthuizen
U21 Bounce Player of the Year: Edwill van der Merwe
U19 Best Forward: Juarno Augustus
U19 Best Back: David Brits
U19 Most Promising Player: Nama Xaba
U19 Bounce Player of the Year: Zain Davids
Above and Beyond Award: Luke Stringer
Women's Player of the Year: Babalwa Latsha
School's Player of the Year: Salmaan Moerat
Referee of the Year: Marius van der Westhuizen
Club Rugby Player of the Year: Alvin Brandt (Tygerberg RFC)

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 28 April 2017
Highlanders v Stormers 07h35 Dunedin
Cardiff Blues v Zebre 18h05 Cardiff
Edinburgh v Dragons 18h35 Myreside
Leinster v Glasgow Warriors 18h35 RDS Arena
Newcastle Falcons v Worcester Warriors 19h00 Kingston Park
Sat, 29 April 2017
Chiefs v Sunwolves 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Waratahs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Force v Lions 11h55 Perth
Ospreys v Ulster 14h00 Liberty Stadium
Bath v Gloucester 14h00 Recreation Ground
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Saracens v Bristol 14h00 Allianz Park
Harlequins v Wasps 14h00 Twickenham Stoop
Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks 14h00 Welford Road
Cheetahs v Crusaders 15h15 Bloemfontein
Treviso v Munster 17h05 Stadio Monigo
Kings v Rebels 17h30 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Connacht v Scarlets 18h35 Sportsground
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Buenos Aires
Sun, 30 April 2017
Brumbies v Blues 06h05 Canberra
Sun, 23 April 2017
Clermont Auvergne v Leinster 27 | 22
Sat, 22 April 2017
Sharks v Rebels 9 | 9
Bulls v Cheetahs 20 | 14
Munster v Saracens 10 | 26
Force v Chiefs 7 | 16
Crusaders v Stormers 57 | 24
Highlanders v Sunwolves 40 | 15
Fri, 21 April 2017
Lions v Jaguares 24 | 21
Waratahs v Kings 24 | 26
Hurricanes v Brumbies 56 | 21
Mon, 17 April 2017
UP-Tuks v Maties 28 | 21
Sun, 16 April 2017
Bristol v Wasps 21 | 36
Northampton Saints v Saracens 25 | 27
Sat, 15 April 2017
Connacht v Leinster 24 | 37
Treviso v Edinburgh 21 | 6
Team P W D L Pts
Free State Cheetahs 8 8 0 0 39
Blue Bulls 8 6 0 2 30
Western Province 8 5 0 3 27
Golden Lions 8 5 0 3 26
Sharks 8 5 0 3 25
Griquas 8 4 0 4 21
Boland 8 2 0 6 11
Pumas 8 1 0 7 10
EP Kings 8 0 0 8 1