All change for Griquas

Wed, 19 Jul 2017 09:36
Large clinton swart cheetahs 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Griquas made a host of changes to their team for the opening round of the Currie Cup competition.

Griquas host the Blue Bulls in Kimberley on Saturday in a revamped seven-team Premier Division.

The backline shows five changes from the side that lost 19-28 to Western Province in the Final of the domestic challenge cup last Sunday.

The return of powerful centre Clinton Swart from Super Rugby duty with the Cheetahs is at the heart of the backline changes.

Swart starts at inside centre, with Tertius Kruger moving to outside centre and Koch Marx shifting from No.13 to the left wing.

Adriaan Coertzen, who again captains the team, moves from left wing to fullback.

The final change to the backs sees Andre Swarts starting at flyhalf in place of George Whitehead.

Up front there are four changes.

Jonathan Janse van Rensburg starts at No.8 in place of Jason Fraser comes in as No.6 flank in place of Wendal Wehr.

Mzwanele Zito comes in at lock, resulting in Floris Pelser moving from No.4 to No.5. Pieter Jansen Van Vuren drops out.

Griquas: 15 Adriaan Coertzen (captain), 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Tertius Kruger, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Koch Marx, 10 Andre Swarts, 9 Christiaan Meyer, 8 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 7 Sias Koen, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Floris Pelser, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Abraham le Roux, 1 Liam Hendricks.
Replacements: 16 Marius Fourie, 17 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 18 Jonathan Adendorf, 19 Wendal Wehr, 20 Rudi Van Rooyen, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Enver Brandt.

Date: Saturday, July 22
Venue: Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant referees: Jaco Pretorius, Darren Colby
TMO: JJ Wagner

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 August 2017
Pumas v Blue Bulls 17h00 Nelspruit
Sat, 26 August 2017
New Zealand v Australia 07h35 Dunedin
Western Province v Sharks 13h00 Newlands
Free State Cheetahs v Golden Lions 15h15 Bloemfontein
Argentina v South Africa 17h30 Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium
Team P W D L Pts
Free State Cheetahs 5 4 0 1 21
Sharks 5 4 0 1 20
Western Province 5 3 0 2 16
Blue Bulls 5 2 0 3 14
Griquas 6 2 0 4 14
Pumas 5 2 0 3 10
Golden Lions 5 1 0 4 9