All change for Griquas

Wed, 02 Aug 2017 14:13
Large george whitehead griquas 800

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Griquas coach Peter Engledow has changed up his team for the first of three Currie Cup matches in the next eight days.

Griquas face the Sharks in Durban on Friday, then head back to Kimberley to host Western Province next Wednesday (August 9) and then make a short trip to Bloemfontein to take on the high-flying Free State Cheetahs next Saturday (August 12).

Given his limited resources, Engledow will have to get creative in the next week - especially when it comes to selection.

For Friday's match George Whitehead moves from flyhalf to fullback in place of Eric Zana. Andre Swarts comes in at No.10.

Adriaan Coertzen moves from right wing to left wing, in place of Enver Brandt - with Ederies Arendse coming in at No.14.

Rudi van Rooyen replaces Christiaan Meyer at scrumhalf.

There is also reshuffle among the loose forwards - with Shaun McDonald in the No.7 jersey and RJ Liebenberg his flank partner. They come in for Sias Koen and Wendal Wehr.

Mzwanele Zito also replaces Floris Pelser at lock.

The final changes to the pack come in the front row - where Abraham le Roux starts at hooker and Devon Martinus at loosehead prop, in place of Marius Fourie and Liam Hendricks.

Griquas: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Tertius Kruger, 12 Jonathan Francke, 11 Adriaan Coertzen (captain), 10 Andre Swarts, 9 Rudi van Rooyen, 8 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 7 Shaun McDonald, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Pieter Janse van Vuren, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Abraham le Roux, 1 Devon Martinus.
Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 18 Wandile Putuma, 19 DeWet Kruger, 20 Sias Koen, 21 Renier Botha, 22 Eric Zana.

Date: Friday, August 4
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Vusi Msibi, Blake Beattie
TMO: Willie Vos

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 August 2017
Pumas v Blue Bulls 17h00 Nelspruit
Sat, 26 August 2017
New Zealand v Australia 07h35 Dunedin
Western Province v Sharks 13h00 Newlands
Free State Cheetahs v Golden Lions 15h15 Bloemfontein
Argentina v South Africa 17h30 Padre Ernesto Martearena Stadium
Team P W D L Pts
Free State Cheetahs 5 4 0 1 21
Sharks 5 4 0 1 20
Western Province 5 3 0 2 16
Blue Bulls 5 2 0 3 14
Griquas 6 2 0 4 14
Pumas 5 2 0 3 10
Golden Lions 5 1 0 4 9