Sharks punish Griquas

Fri, 04 Aug 2017 17:00
Large daniel du preez v griquas 8

CURRIE CUP REPORT: The Sharks made sure they secure a second consecutive victory with a comfortable 41-3 bonus point win over Griquas in Durban.

For the second week in a row, the Sharks kept the opposition try-less. The hosts scored six tries though Jeremy Ward, Jacques Vermeulen, Juan Schoeman, Cameron Wright and a brace by Sibusiso Nkosi.

The Shark had a blistering start, within four minutes of play the hosts were 7-0 up. Wing Sibusiso Nkosi’s inside ball found centre Jeremy Ward, who strolled over the chalk for the easy points. Curwin Bosch added the extras.

Conceding an early try really put Griquas under pressure. The Kimberley side’s rushed and desperate inside their own five almost got them conceding another try, however, Daniel du Preez was in touch and the side survived yet another Sharks' attack.

As the first half progressed, the game took a real dip, there were some hints of brilliance particularly the break by Garth April from his own half, however, it failed to prove a real threat for the Griquas’ defence.

Eventually after rooming inside the Griquas’ half for 10 minutes, the Sharks flyhalf Bosch kicked over a three pointed to extend the lead, 10-0.

It took 25 minutes for Griquas to register points on the board. Flyhald George Whitehead slotted over a penalty to trail, 3-10.  He could have narrow the deficit, however, his 50 metre kicked failed to reach the target.

Instead, it was the hosts who extended their lead, just before the break.
April produced yet another line-break which set up Nkosi's try. The fullback got his side in the Griquas, before, Lukhanyo Am’s perfectly timed grubber found Nkosi out wide. Bosch made sure he added the extras with a difficult kick from the touch.

Sharks took a 17-3 advantage to the lockers.

The hosts started the second in similar form. They put on attack and after numerous phases inside the Griquas 22, Ward made a break but was just short. Eventually, Jacques Vermeulen stretched over for the converted try, 24-3.

On the 50th mark, Shark got their bonus points. A scrum and relentless pick-up-and-drives got Schoeman over in the corner. For the first time, Bosch failed to add the extras and the score remained 29-3.

Nkosi bagged his double in this one-sided affair, the wing collected a pass inside the 22 and wiggled his way past three defenders to dot over the line.

The Griquas had a mountain to climb and almost got a reward just before the hour mark. Unfortunately for them,  the quick tap-and-go by Rudi van Rooyen proved to fruitless as Rasta Rasivhenge along with the TMO disallowed the try.

As the dying minutes approached, the Sharks put the final nail in the coffin.  Again Ward and Nkosi linked up inside the Griquas 22 before replacement scrumhalf Wright glided over the chalk. Inny-Christian Radebe added the extras to conclude the score.

Man of the Match: Garth April was in good form before he got substituted on the 55th minutes. Wing Sibisuso Nkosi also proved to be influential and bagged a double. Daniel Du Preez and Thomas du Toit's muscle and vigour relieved pressure in front. Our award goes to Sharks centre Jeremy Ward for his relentless attack and support play throughout the match. 

The scorers:

For Sharks:
Ward, Nkosi 2, Vermeulen, Schoeman, Wright
Cons: Bosch 3, Radebe
Pen: Bosch

For Griquas:

Sharks: 15 Garth April, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Lukhanyo Am, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Mahlatse Ralepelle, 1 Thomas du Toit.
Replacements: 16 Franco Marais, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Lubabalo Mtembu, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Inny-Christian Radebe.

Griquas: 15 George Whitehead, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Tertius Kruger, 12 Jonathan Francke, 11 Adriaan Coertzen (captain), 10 Andre Swarts, 9 Rudi van Rooyen, 8 Jonathan Janse van Rensburg, 7 Shaun McDonald, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Pieter Janse van Vuren, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Abraham le Roux, 1 Devon Martinus.
Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Nicolaas Oosthuizen, 18 Wandile Putuma, 19 DeWet Kruger, 20 Sias Koen, 21 Renier Botha, 22 Eric Zana.

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Vusi Msibi, Blake Beattie
TMO: Willie Vos

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 15 December 2017
Ulster v Harlequins 19h45 Kingspan Stadium
Sat, 16 December 2017
Montpellier v Glasgow Warriors 13h00 Altrad Stadium
Treviso v Scarlets 13h00 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Leinster v Exeter Chiefs 15h15 Aviva Stadium
Racing Metro v Castres 15h15 Stade Yves-du-Manoir
Bath v Toulon 17h30 Recreation Ground
Sun, 17 December 2017
Wasps v La Rochelle 13h00 Ricoh Arena
Clermont Auvergne v Saracens 15h15 Stade Marcel-Michelin
Ospreys v Northampton Saints 15h15 Liberty Stadium
Leicester Tigers v Munster 17h30 Welford Road
Mon, 11 December 2017
Saracens v Clermont Auvergne 14 | 46
Sun, 10 December 2017
Exeter Chiefs v Leinster 8 | 18
Harlequins v Ulster 5 | 17
La Rochelle v Wasps 49 | 29
Sat, 09 December 2017
Munster v Leicester Tigers 33 | 10
Castres v Racing Metro 16 | 13
Northampton Saints v Ospreys 32 | 43
Toulon v Bath 24 | 20
Scarlets v Treviso 33 | 28
Fri, 08 December 2017
Glasgow Warriors v Montpellier 22 | 29
Sun, 03 December 2017
Harlequins v Saracens 20 | 19
Sat, 02 December 2017
Cheetahs v Scarlets 28 | 21
Munster v Ospreys 36 | 10
Wasps v Leicester Tigers 32 | 25
Treviso v Leinster 10 | 36
Team P W D L Pts
Sharks 12 10 0 2 47
Western Province 12 7 0 5 37
Golden Lions 12 6 0 6 35
Blue Bulls 12 5 0 7 32
Free State Cheetahs 12 6 0 6 31
Pumas 12 4 0 8 27
Griquas 12 4 0 8 26