Bok double sparks Tigers rout

Sat, 18 Feb 2017 19:50
Large jp pietersen leicester media 800

PREMIERSHIP REPORT: JP Pietersen's first-half try double inspired Leicester Tigers to an eight-try 50-17 Premiership win over Bristol.

Tigers produced a blistering attacking performance at Welford Road on Saturday.

Tigers went into the fixture buoyed by a bonus-point win over Gloucester at home last time out and Aaron Mauger's charges were in a ruthless mood in the first period.

Talismanic fullback Jason Woodward kicked an early penalty for Bristol, but Pat Cilliers bumped his way over for a near-immediate response and from then on Tigers were rampant.

First, JP Pietersen collected Owen Williams' cross-kick for a converted score, before Telusa Veainu lit up the game with a glorious line-break and score and South African wing Pietersen sealed the bonus-point by finishing a length of the field move just shy of half an hour.

* Article continues below!

Bristol replied on 40 minutes through former Leicester man Rob Hawkins, but Mauger's men led 31-10 at the turn and extended their lead further when No.8 Brendon O'Connor scored from a charged down kick eight minutes into the half.

Adam Thompstone crossed for the seventh eight minutes later before Greg Bateman added No.8 meaning Tigers sealed their sixth win in seven Premiership games at Welford Road, with their second consecutive bonus-point win edging them closer to Bath and the top four.

Woodward, so influential since joining up with the Ashton Gate side, kicked Bristol's first points after seven minutes while Gaston Cortes laid down an early marker in the scrum.

Opposite man Cilliers though, crossed for the game's opening try, breaking after patient work from the Tigers pack and shrugging off an attempted tackler to cross on 12 minutes, with Williams converting to take the hosts 7-3 ahead.

Stand-off Williams then showed his strength to muscle through the Bristol midfield and over the line for Tigers' second score four minutes later.

Williams was to the fore again eight minutes later, firing a cross-kick in the direction of returning Springbok wing Pietersen and after ricocheting, it fell neatly into his path to touch down for his second Premiership try.

Mauger's side had been boosted by the return of Veainu and Pietersen and the two continued to cause havoc among the Bristol defence, with the Tongan full-back skipping through several tackles to score Leicester's third on 27 minutes.

Pietersen then wrapped up the bonus point before half-time, finishing off a brilliant team move – with Veainu again prominent – that began inside their own 22 for a 31-3 lead.

Former Tiger Hawkins bust over from close range on the stroke of half-time, with Woodward converting to provide Mark Tainton's men with something to build on in the second period, but it was the Tigers who led 31-10 thanks to a dazzling half from Pietersen and Veainu.

But Hawkins' try proved to be just a blip in the Tigers performance, with O'Connor charging down a Tusi Pisi clearance kick and scrambling clear to score the hosts' sixth of the afternoon eight minutes into the second half.

Sam Harrison and Thompstone then combined for number seven, the wing darting over to take Mauger's men 43-10 in front before Bateman and Jamal Ford-Robinson traded scores at the death.

The scorers:

For Leicester Tigers:
 Cilliers, Williams, Pietersen 2, Veainu, Thompstone, O'Connor , Bateman
Cons: Williams 5

For Bristol:
 Hawkins, Ford-Robinson
Cons: Woodward 2
Pen: Woodward


Leicester Tigers: 15 Telusa Veainu, 14 Adam Thompstone, 13 Jack Roberts, 12 Maxime Mermoz, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Owen Williams, 9 Sam Harrison, 8 Luke Hamilton, 7 Brendon O'Connor, 6 Mike Williams, 5 Mike Fitzgerald, 4 Dom Barrow, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Tom Youngs (captain), 1 Michele Rizzo.
Replacements: 16 George McGuigan, 17 Ellis Genge, 18 Greg Bateman, 19 Tom Croft, 20 Harry Thacker, 21 Jono Kitto, 22 Mathew Tait, 23 Matt Smith.

Bristol: 15 Jason Woodward, 14 Jack Wallace, 13 Siale Piutau, 12 Tusi Pisi, 11 Thretton Palamo, 10 Adrian Jarvis, 9 Will Cliff, 8 Jordan Crane (captain), 7 Jack Lam, 6 Mitch Eadie, 5 Mark Sorenson, 4 Dan Tuohy, 3 Gaston Cortes, 2 Rob Hawkins, 1 Ryan Bevington.
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 Jack O'Connell, 18 Jamal Ford-Robinson, 19 James Phillips, 20 Sam Jeffries, 21 Alby Mathewson, 22 Gavin Henson, 23 Will Hurrell.

Referee: Thomas Foley
Assistant referees: Andrew P Jackson, Hamish Smales
TMO: David Sainsbury

Source: @premrugby

There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 24 September 2017
London Irish v Northampton Saints 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Exeter Chiefs v Wasps 14h00 Sandy Park
Fri, 29 September 2017
Sharks v Golden Lions 17h00 Durban
Newcastle Falcons v London Irish 18h35 Kingston Park
Worcester Warriors v Saracens 18h35 Sixways
Sale Sharks v Gloucester 19h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Treviso 19h35 Scotstoun Stadium
Leinster v Edinburgh 19h35 RDS Arena
Scarlets v Connacht 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
Sat, 30 September 2017
Griquas v Free State Cheetahs 12h00 Kimberley
Leicester Tigers v Exeter Chiefs 13h00 Welford Road
Munster v Cardiff Blues 13h30 Thomond Park
Northampton Saints v Harlequins 14h00 Franklin's Gardens
Cheetahs v Ospreys 14h00 Bloemfontein
Wasps v Bath 14h00 Ricoh Arena
Zebre v Ulster 14h35 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
South Africa v Australia 15h05 Bloemfontein
Dragons v Kings 18h35 Rodney Parade
Sun, 01 October 2017
Argentina v New Zealand 22h30 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Team P W D L Pts
Saracens 4 3 0 1 14
Newcastle Falcons 4 3 0 1 14
Exeter Chiefs 3 2 0 1 11
Wasps 3 2 0 1 10
Harlequins 4 2 0 2 10
Bath 4 2 0 2 10
Leicester Tigers 4 2 0 2 9
Northampton Saints 3 2 0 1 9
Gloucester 4 2 0 2 9
Sale Sharks 4 1 0 3 7
London Irish 3 1 0 2 5
Worcester Warriors 4 0 0 4 1