Bath splash Wasps aside

Sun, 01 Oct 2017 17:28
Large bath v waso.jpg 800

PREMIERSHIP MATCH REPORT: Semesa Rokuduguni dotted down late on as Bath moved up to fifth in the Premiership Rugby after overpowering Wasps with a 25-9 victory.

Both sides had experienced indifferent starts to their campaign, with two wins and two defeats apiece heading into the clash at the Ricoh Arena.

The hosts started brightly and Jimmy Gopperth’s 40-yard penalty saw them open up an early lead, but Rhys Priestland landed a similarly lengthy effort to level proceedings.

However, Bath were penalised for blocking immediately after the restart, and Gopperth slotted another three points.

But Priestland was also in fine form with the boot, levelling from the tee and coolly slotting home a drop goal just before the half-hour mark.

The ever-reliable Gopperth hit back once more with a third penalty of his own as both sides tried to find fluency.

It was a similar story in the opening stages of the second period, with Priestland kicking a routine three-pointer in front of the posts after Wasps were penalised at the breakdown.

The Welshman departed the action soon after following an Ashley Johnson tackle but replacement Freddie Burns immediately settled into the action, sending a fifth Bath penalty sailing between the posts.

However, he could not stretch the advantage further, missing a kick moments later after the hosts were penalised at the scrum.

The meteorite boot of Elliot Daly missed with a long-range effort as Wasps searched for a way back into the game, but Bath’s defence held firm and Burns added another penalty ten minutes from time to make it 18-9.

And they rubbed salt into Wasps’ wounds five minutes from time when Jonathan Joseph delightfully kicked through towards Rokoduguni, who was fastest to the loose ball.

Burns kicked the penalty to make it 25-9, and secured Bath’s first Premiership win at the Ricoh Arena and inflict a second successive home defeat on the hosts.

The scorers:

For Wasps:
Gopperth 3

For Bath:
Con: Burns
Pens: Priestland 3, Burns 2

The teams:

Wasps: 15 Rob Miller, 14 Christian Wade, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Brendan Macken, 11 Josh Bassett, 10 Jimmy Gopperth, 9 Joe Simpson, 8 Nathan Hughes, 7 Thomas Young, 6 James Haskell, 5 Will Rowlands, 4 Joe Launchbury (captain), 3 Jake Cooper-Woolley, 2 Tom Cruse, 1 Simon McIntyre
Replacements: 16 Ashley Johnson, 17 Ben Harris, 18 Paul Doran Jones, 19 Marcus Garratt, 20 Jack Willis, 21 Craig Hampson, 22 Juan De Jongh, 23 Marcus Watson

Bath: 15 Anthony Watson, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Max Clark, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Chris Cook, 8 Taulupe Faletau, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Zach Mercer, 5 Luke Charteris, 4 Charlie Ewels (captain), 3 Henry Thomas, 2 Jack Walker, 1 Beno Obano
Replacements: 16 Tom Dunn, 17 Nick Auterac, 18 Anthony Perenise, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 James Phillips, 21 Darren Allinson, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Ben Tapuai

Referee: Matthew Carley
Assistant referees: Roy Maybank, Adam Leal
TMO: David Rose


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 23 February 2018
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Dragons v Edinburgh 19h30 Rodney Parade
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Sun, 25 February 2018
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Team P W D L Pts
Saracens 15 11 0 4 53
Exeter Chiefs 15 10 0 5 52
Wasps 15 10 0 5 48
Gloucester 15 9 0 6 42
Newcastle Falcons 15 9 0 6 41
Bath 15 8 0 7 41
Leicester Tigers 15 8 0 7 37
Sale Sharks 14 7 0 7 37
Harlequins 15 6 0 9 32
Northampton Saints 15 6 0 9 30
Worcester Warriors 15 5 0 10 27
London Irish 15 1 0 14 11