Twelvetrees sneaks it for Gloucester

Sat, 30 Dec 2017 17:06
Large gloucester v sale 800

PREMIERSHIP MATCH REPORT: Billy Twelvetrees kicked two crucial penalties in the final quarter to give Gloucester a crucial 20-16 win over Sale Sharks at Kingsholm in Saturday.

The home team outscored the visitors by two tries to one.

Flyhalf AJ MacGinty scored a try, a conversion and three penalties for Dale.

Wing David Halaifonua and scrumhalf Ben Vellacott scored Gloucester's tries - with Twelvetrees kicking two conversions and those two penalties to take his team from 14-16 down to victory.

Sale raced into a 6-0 lead inside 20 minutes when MacGinty successfully kicked two penalties and it looked good for Steve Diamond’s side.

But the hosts hit back with a try from Halaifonua which was successfully converted by Twelvetrees, but with half-time approaching MacGinty scored his third penalty to give Sale a narrow lead at the break.

Gloucester was back in front shortly after the break when scrum half Vellacott went over for a opportunists try, as he pounced on a ball that’s ripped out of one of his forwards’ hands and went over to score. which again was converted by Twelvetrees.

But in this topsy-turvy encounter, Sale was ahead again when MacGinty went over for a try and then successfully converted his effort.

But at a blustery Kingsholm, Twelvetrees was able to read the wind and successfully stepped up with two late penalties to put Gloucester ahead again, but this time it would not be overturned as the home side held on to win and end 2017 on a high.

The scorers:

For Gloucester:
 Halaifonua, Vellacott
Cons: Twelvetrees 2
Pens: Twelvetrees 2

For Sale Sharks:
Con: MacGinty
Pens: MacGinty 3


Gloucester: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Charlie Sharples, 13 Billy Twelvetrees, 12 Andy Symons, 11 David Halaifonua, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Ben Vellacott, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Lewis Ludlow, 6 Ruan Ackermann, 5 Jeremy Thrush, 4 Tom Savage (captain), 3 John Afoa, 2 James Hanson, 1 Josh Hohneck.
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Cameron Orr, 18 Fraser Balmain, 19 Ed Slater, 20 Freddie Clarke, 21 Callum Braley, 22 Henry Trinder, 23 Jason Woodward.

Sale: 15 James O'Connor, 14 Denny Solomona, 13 Sam James, 12 Rohan Janse Van Rensburg, 11 Byron McGuigan, 10 AJ MacGinty, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Josh Strauss, 7 Ben Curry, 6 Jono Ross, 5 Andrei Ostrikov, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 WillGriff John, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Ross Harrison.
Replacements: 16 Marc Jones, 17 James Flynn, 18 Halani Aulika, 19 George Nott, 20 Cameron Neild, 21 Will Cliff, 22 Mike Haley, 23 Marland Yarde.

Referee: Andrew Jackson
Assistant referees: Jack Makepeace & Jonathan Healy
TMO: Sean Davey

Source: @premrugby

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 20 January 2018
Montpellier v Leinster 13h00 Altrad Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Exeter Chiefs 13h00 Scotstoun Stadium
Cheetahs v Kings 15h00 Bloemfontein
Saracens v Northampton Saints 15h15 Allianz Park
Clermont Auvergne v Ospreys 15h15 Stade Marcel-Michelin
Treviso v Bath 17h30 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Scarlets v Toulon 17h30 Parc y Scarlets
Sun, 21 January 2018
Leicester Tigers v Racing Metro 13h00 Welford Road
Munster v Castres 13h00 Thomond Park
La Rochelle v Harlequins 15h15 Stade Marcel-Deflandre
Wasps v Ulster 15h15 Ricoh Arena
Team P W D L Pts
Exeter Chiefs 13 10 0 3 50
Saracens 13 9 0 4 45
Wasps 13 8 0 5 39
Gloucester 13 8 0 5 38
Bath 13 7 0 6 37
Newcastle Falcons 13 8 0 5 36
Sale Sharks 13 6 0 7 33
Leicester Tigers 13 7 0 6 32
Harlequins 13 6 0 7 32
Northampton Saints 13 5 0 8 26
Worcester Warriors 13 3 0 10 19
London Irish 13 1 0 12 10