Preview: Edinburgh v Munster

Thu, 02 Feb 2017 14:47
Large john hardie edinburgh 800

PRO12 CATCH-UP MATCH: Edinburgh's first run-out at Myreside Stadium in the Pro12 promises to be a fascinating affair with visitors Munster looking to reclaim their position at the top of the table.

The Irish province lie in second position, three points behind Ospreys, knowing that a win can put them one step closer to locking up a vital home semifinal in their bid to reach the Pro12 Final on May 27 in Dublin.
After running out as handsome winners in their first game at Myreside against Timisoara Saracens in the European Challenge Cup two weeks ago, Edinburgh are keen to build up a good home record after making the switch from Murrayfield.
Both sides will face disruption due to international call-ups but some of their most consistent performers will hope to be available with Edinburgh's Blair Kinghorn offering a threat in attack with 19 defenders beaten so far this season.
Munster's Ronan O'Mahony will also need to be kept in check and has scored five tries during a campaign where the province have found a consistency they lacked last year. A win for the home team will boost them up to eighth position, but Munster know victory will provide them with a one-point lead over Ospreys with just nine games remaining.
Coach Duncan Hodge made six personnel changes to his Edinburgh side.
Among the changes to the forward pack is John Hardie, who returns to the side for the first time since undergoing corrective surgery on an ankle injury sustained in Scotland's 2016 year-end Test against Australia (November 12).
Hodge has made two further amendments to the forward pack with Jack Cosgrove and Murray McCallum set to start at loosehead and tighthead prop respectively.
In the backline, scrumhalf Sean Kennedy and flyhalf Jason Tovey enter the fray, while Phil Burleigh returns to start at inside centre.
"We're looking forward to heading back to a packed house at Myreside on our return to league duties," Hodge said.
"Munster are an outfit heading to Edinburgh on fine form and with a chance of going top of the table, but we've also hit a fine vein of form in recent times which gives us a lot of confidence going into the game.
"We've got a good blend of youth and experience throughout the squad - with a lot of settled looking combinations - and a team who will want to play an up-tempo and attacking brand of rugby."
Blair Kinghorn, Damien Hoyland and Tom Brown continue in a settled back three combination, while Chris Dean moves to outside centre to accommodate for the incoming Burleigh.
Neil Cochrane will captain the side and accompany Cosgrove and McCallum in the front-row, with Ben Toolis and Fraser McKenzie packing down at lock.
Hardie is joined in the back-row by blindside flanker Magnus Bradbury and number eight Cornell Du Preez.
Those unavailable due to injury include Kevin Bryce (shoulder), Alasdair Dickinson (foot), Will Helu (hand), Nasi Manu (shoulder), WP Nel (neck), Alex Northam (Achilles), Rory Sutherland (groin), Kyle Whyte (knee)

Director of Rugby Rassie Erasmus named a much-changed Munster side - with no less than 11 changes to the side the defeated Racing 92 in the Champions Cup in Thomond Park less than a fortnight ago.

With four changes to the backline, Calvin Nash, in his first year of the academy, will make his debut starting on the wing after a string of impressive performances with Munster A and his club side Young Munster.

Fellow academy player and club mate Dan Goggin renews his midfield partnership with Francis Saili after the pair last started against Connacht in December.

Duncan Williams is introduced at scrumhalf joining No.10 Tyler Bleyendaal who will captain the province for the first time, while another first sees Jaco Taute make the positional switch to fullback.

In the forwards lock Jean Kleyn is the only player to retain this place this week and he is joined in the engine room by Dave Foley who has overcome a wrist injury to start.

In an all new front row Peter McCabe makes his first start for the province joining hooker Rhys Marshall and tighthead prop Stephen Archer on his 100th Pro12 appearance. Following injury to James Cronin, McCabe returned to the province after a short loan spell with Connacht.

Similarly there is a new look back row for tomorrow's encounter with Dave O'Callaghan, the academy's Conor Oliver and Jack O'Donoghue all introduced.

Returning from Irish camp this weekend Dave Kilcoyne, Billy Holland, Tommy O'Donnell and Rory Scannell have all been named in the replacements.

This game was postponed from January 7, to facilitate the rearrangement of Munster's European Champions Cup game against Racing in Paris.

Edinburgh ended a three game losing run in the Pro12 with their 24-19 victory against Zebre in Parma on New Year's Eve.

This game will be only the fifth to be played at Myreside in Pro12 history, the most recent of which was a 24-16 Edinburgh victory over Ospreys in February 2015.

Munster have won their last six Pro12 matches with three of those earning a try bonus point since their 14-25 reversal to Leinster at Aviva Stadium on October 8.

The Munstermen' s only loss on their last four visits to Scotland in the Championship was 24-27 to Glasgow Warriors in Kilmarnock in February 2016.

Munster have lost only one of their last ten encounters with Edinburgh in the Pro12, and that by a solitary point in Limerick in the opening round of the 2014/15 campaign.

Munster have visited Myreside once before winning 25-22 in Pool B of the old Celtic League in August 2001.


Edinburgh: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Damien Hoyland, 13 Chris Dean, 12 Phil Burleigh, 11 Tom Brown, 10 Jason Tovey, 9 Sean Kennedy, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 John Hardie, 6 Magnus Bradbury, 5 Ben Toolis, 4 Fraser McKenzie, 3 Murray McCallum, 2 Neil Cochrane (captain), 1 Jack Cosgrove.
Replacements: 16 Stuart McInally, 17 Derrick Appiah, 18 Nick Beavon, 19 Lewis Carmichael, 20 Viliame Mata, 21 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 22 Michael Allen, 23 Rory Scholes.

Munster: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Calvin Nash, 13 Francis Saili, 12 Dan Goggin, 11 Ronan O'Mahony, 10 Tyler Bleyendaal (captain), 9 Duncan Williams, 8 Jack O'Donoghue, 7 Conor Oliver, 6 Dave O'Callaghan, 5 Dave Foley, 4 Jean Kleyn, 3 Stephen Archer, 2 Rhys Marshall, 1 Peter McCabe.
Replacements: 16 Kevin O'Byrne, 17 Dave Kilcoyne, 18 Brian Scott, 19 Darren O'Shea, 20 Billy Holland, 21 Tommy O'Donnell, 22 Angus Lloyd, 23 Rory Scannell.
Date: Friday, February 3
Venue: Myreside Stadium, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 19.35 (19.35 GMT)
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant referees: Sean Brickell (Wales), Dunx McClement (Scotland)
TMO: Neil Hennessy (Wales)

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 05 May 2017
Hurricanes v Stormers 07h35 Westpac Stadium
Cheetahs v Highlanders 17h00 Bloemfontein
Sat, 06 May 2017
Bristol v Newcastle Falcons 22h00 Ashton Gate
Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers 22h00 Sixways
Northampton Saints v Harlequins 22h00 Franklin's Gardens
Wasps v Saracens 22h00 Ricoh Arena
Glasgow Warriors v Edinburgh 22h00 Scotstoun Stadium
Dragons v Cardiff Blues 22h00 Rodney Parade
Zebre v Treviso 22h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Ulster v Leinster 22h00 Kingspan Stadium
Scarlets v Ospreys 22h00 Parc y Scarlets
Munster v Connacht 22h00 Thomond Park
Gloucester v Exeter Chiefs 22h00 Kingsholm
Sale Sharks v Bath 22h00 AJ Bell Stadium
Rebels v Lions 05h00 Melbourne
Chiefs v Reds 07h35 New Plymouth
Waratahs v Blues 09h45 Allianz Park
Sharks v Force 13h05 Kings Park, Durban
Bulls v Crusaders 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Jaguares v Sunwolves 21h40 Buenos Aires
Team P W D L Pts
Leinster 21 18 0 3 84
Munster 21 18 0 3 81
Scarlets 21 16 0 5 71
Ospreys 21 14 0 7 69
Ulster 21 13 1 7 64
Glasgow Warriors 21 11 0 10 58
Cardiff Blues 21 10 1 10 49
Connacht 21 9 7 12 44
Edinburgh 21 5 0 16 27
Dragons 21 4 0 17 22
Treviso 21 4 0 17 19
Zebre 21 3 0 18 19