Scarlets' Evans' red rescinded

Wed, 24 May 2017 11:50
Large steffan evans scarlets 2016 800

PRO12 NEWS: Scarlets wing Steff Evans has been cleared to play in the Pro12 Final against Munster on Saturday after the red card he received in the semifinal against Leinster was rescinded.

Referee Marius Mitrea deemed Evans to have committed an act of foul play under Law 10.4 (e) – Dangerous Tackling, against Leinster centre Garry Ringrose.

A Disciplinary Panel, consisting of Roddy Dunlop QC (Chair), Roddy MacLeod and Iain Leslie (all Scotland), convened in Edinburgh to consider the red card decision and decided - by a majority - that Evans undertook a lawful tackle in a manner that was consistent with the laws of the game.

The tackle only became dangerous as a result of the intervention of teammate Samson Lee. 

The Panel, having directed itself under reference to the decision of the Appeal Committee in Ross Ford and Jonny Gray (RWC 2015) decided that this meant that the red card should be rescinded.

The player is therefore free to play.

@PRO12rugby

There are currently no matches being played
FIXTURE GMT VENUE
Fri, 18 August 2017
Western Province v Golden Lions 17h00 Newlands
Sat, 19 August 2017
Australia v New Zealand 10h00 ANZ Stadium
Blue Bulls v Free State Cheetahs 12h05 Loftus Versfeld
South Africa v Argentina 15h05 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Sun, 20 August 2017
Griquas v Pumas 12h30 Kimberley
PRO14
MORE LOGS
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Munster 0 0 0 0 0
Ospreys 0 0 0 0 0
Glasgow Warriors 0 0 0 0 0
Cardiff Blues 0 0 0 0 0
Connacht 0 0 0 0 0
Zebre 0 0 0 0 0
Cheetahs 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Leinster 0 0 0 0 0
Scarlets 0 0 0 0 0
Ulster 0 0 0 0 0
Edinburgh 0 0 0 0 0
Treviso 0 0 0 0 0
Dragons 0 0 0 0 0
Kings 0 0 0 0 0