Leinster earn Irish bragging rights

Sat, 28 Oct 2017 20:01
Large ulster v leinster 2017 800

PRO14 REPORT: Leinster earned derby-day bragging rights with a hard-fought win away at Ulster to leapfrog them into second place in Conference B.

Tries from Jordan Larmour and Luke McGrath proved crucial for the visitors, who continue to build momentum following a superb European break and will be full of confidence ahead of Friday's crucial trip to Glasgow Warriors.

Ulster fall to their second defeat in three matches following a surprise loss to Zebre last month, although they can take heart from the battling display.

Aaron Cairns impressed on his debut at scrumhalf, while hooker Rory Best made his first start of the season to bolster Ulster's pack.

However, Leinster hit the front after just seven minutes when Lamour scampered down the wing to score a memorable try.

Ulster increased the pressure, dominating territory and possession but Leinster's defence – marshalled by the superb Devin Toner – kept them at bay.

A pair of Ross Byrne penalties put Leinster ahead by three points at the break with Australian Christian Lealiifano kicking one for the home side.

And Ulster sensed a change in the wind 15 minutes into the second half when Dave Kearney was yellow carded for a deliberate knock on.

However, Leinster struck a fatal blow to Ulster's chances by extending their lead beyond a single score with a crucial try.

An Ulster knock-on was capitalised on and Luke McGrath crossed just three minutes after Kearney’s yellow with a dart in the corner.

Ulster upped the tempo, pinning Leinster back inside their own half as they searched for a way back into the game.

But it was again Leinster that almost scored when Jordi Murphy latched onto the end of an overthrown line-out ten metres out.

Ulster's charge fizzled out in the final ten minutes and Leinster finished things off as McGrath crashed over for his second of the match.

That secured the win, the first for an away side in this fixture in nine attempts and the first for the Dublin-side in Belfast since 2014.

The scorers:

For Ulster:
Try: Reidy
Con: Lealiifano
Pen: Lealiifano

For Leinster:
Tries: Larmour, McGrath 2
Cons: Byrne, Marsh
Pens: Byrne 2


Ulster: 15 Charles Piutau, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Luke Marshall, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Christian Lealiifano, 9 Aaron Cairns, 8 Jean Deysel, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Sean Reidy, 5 Iain Henderson (captain), 4 Alan O'Connor, 3 Rodney Ah You, 2 Rory Best, 1 Callum Black,
Replacements: 16 Rob Herring, 17 Andy Warwick, 18 Ross Kane, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Robbie Diack, 21 Jonny Stewart, 22 Peter Nelson, 23 Louis Ludik.

Leinster: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Rory O’Loughlin, 12 Noel Reid, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Seán O’Brien (captain), 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 Dan Leavy, 5 James Ryan, 4 Devin Toner, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 James Tracy, 1 Jack McGrath.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Ross Molony, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Luke McGrath, 22 Cathal Marsh, 23 Jordan Larmour.

Referee: John Lacey
Assistant referees: Craig Evans, Leo Colgan
TMO: Olly Hodges


There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 25 November 2017
Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors 12h45 Welford Road
Bath v Harlequins 12h45 Recreation Ground
Italy v South Africa 13h00 Rome
Scotland v Australia 14h30 Edinburgh
England v Samoa 15h00 Twickenham
Wales v New Zealand 17h15 Cardiff
Ireland v Argentina 17h30 Aviva Stadium
Sale Sharks v Northampton Saints 17h30 AJ Bell Stadium
France v Japan 19h00 Paris
Sun, 26 November 2017
Kings v Scarlets 13h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Ospreys v Glasgow Warriors 13h00 Liberty Stadium
Zebre v Munster 13h30 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
Saracens v Exeter Chiefs 15h00 Allianz Park
London Irish v Wasps 15h00 Madejski Stadium
Fri, 01 December 2017
Kings v Edinburgh 17h15 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Cardiff Blues 18h35 Scotstoun Stadium
Dragons v Ulster 18h35 Rodney Parade
Worcester Warriors v Sale Sharks 18h45 Sixways
Northampton Saints v Newcastle Falcons 18h45 Franklin's Gardens
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Glasgow Warriors 8 8 0 0 38
Munster 8 5 0 3 26
Cheetahs 9 5 0 4 25
Cardiff Blues 9 4 0 5 19
Connacht 9 3 0 6 18
Zebre 8 2 0 6 12
Ospreys 8 2 0 6 11
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Scarlets 8 7 0 1 34
Leinster 9 7 0 2 32
Ulster 9 7 0 2 32
Edinburgh 9 5 0 4 23
Treviso 9 3 0 6 15
Dragons 9 2 0 7 10
Kings 8 0 0 8 2