Leinster smash Dragons

Fri, 24 Nov 2017 22:35
Large ross byrne v dragons 2017 800

PRO14 REPORT: Leinster powered away from the Dragons on Friday, scoring eight tries and 54 unanswered points to stay hot on the heels of Scarlets at the top of Conference B.


The visitors got off to a great start as James Benjamin’s try put them ahead, but that was as good as it got with Jamison Gibson-Park, Isa Nacewa, Josh Murphy, and Max Deegan all crossing in the space of 15 minutes.

And after half-time it remained one-way traffic, as Nacewa doubled his tally before Jordan Larmour, Rory O’Loughlin, and a penalty try put the gloss on a resounding 54-10 triumph.

Dragons looked assured with the ball in hand early on, and built the phases well until Sarel Pretorius hit Gavin Henson perfectly to ping a third-minute drop-goal through the uprights.

And the visitors had the game’s opening try shortly after; again they kept the ball well and hammered away at the Leinster defences, with finally Benjamin the man to breach the line and dive over the whitewash.

Henson nailed the extras from out wide to make it 10-0, although that advantage did not last long as Leinster scored a fantastic try.

Ross Bryne found some space to break, and kicked over the top for Fergus McFadden to feed Sean Cronin, and finally Gibson-Park crashed over the line.

Byrne added the extras and the turnaround was complete in the 27th minute as Leinster came forward once again.

Dragons committed numbers in defence, and with a penalty advantage the Boys in Blue quickly flipped the ball out wide to the left flank for Nacewa to finish with aplomb in the left corner.

The hosts really were into their stride now, and after Byrne aggressively kicked a penalty into the corner, Leinster smelled blood and turned the screw with Murphy scrambling over from the resulting lineout on his first senior start.

And Leo Cullen’s charges had a bonus-point score before the Dragons could catch their breath. Jordan Larmour made the break, Byrne again elected to cross-kick to McFadden, and he and Deegan were left with a two-on-one in the right corner.

Angus O’Brien saw yellow for a deliberate knock on with 48 minutes on the clock, with referee Sam Grove-White awarding a penalty try to boot as Scott Fardy was looking to send Deegan over the line.

It took just three minutes for Leinster to score again, this time Nacewa diving over in the left corner as Dragons’ defence were stretched once more, but the score stayed at 42-10 for a scrappy 20-minute period.

But Leinster were not finished yet and there was still time for Larmour to win the race to Noel Reid’s perfectly weighted grubber-kick, with the score confirmed via the TMO, and O’Loughlin to capitalise on Larmour’s searing break through the tiring Dragons line as the Boys in Blue ended the clash in style.

The scorers: 

For Leinster:
Tries: Gibson-Park, Nacewa 2, Murphy, Deegan, Larmour, O'Loughlin , Penalty Try
Cons: Byrne 5, Marsh

For Dragons:
Try: Benjamin
Con: Henson
DG: Henson 


Leinster: 15 Jordan Larmour, 14 Fergus McFadden, 13 Rory O'Loughlin, 12 Noel Reid, 11 Isa Nacewa (captain), 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Max Deegan, 7 Jordi Murphy, 6 Josh Murphy, 5 Scott Fardy, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Michael Bent, 2 Seán Cronin, 1 Ed Byrne.
Replacements: 16 Richardt Strauss, 17 Peter Dooley, 18 Andrew Porter, 19 Ian Nagle, 20 Jack Conan, 21 Nick McCarthy, 22 Cathal Marsh, 23 Conor O'Brien.

Dragons: 15 Angus O'Brien, 14 Jared Rosser, 13 Adam Warren, 12 Jack Dixon, 11 Ashton Hewitt, 10 Gavin Henson, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 James Benjamin, 7 Ollie Griffiths (captain), 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Matthew Screech, 4 Joe Davies, 3 Lloyd Fairbrother, 2 Ellis Shipp, 1 Sam Hobbs.
Replacements: 16 Gerard Ellis, 17 Luke Garrett, 18 Brok Harris, 19 Rynard Landman, 20 Ben Roach, 21 Dan Babos, 22 Arwel Robson, 23 Connor Edwards.

Referee: Sam Grove-White (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Dunx McClement, Bob Nevins (Scotland)
TMO: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)


There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 23 February 2018
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Dragons v Edinburgh 19h30 Rodney Parade
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Sun, 25 February 2018
Zebre v Cardiff Blues 13h00 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
London Irish v Worcester Warriors 13h00 Madejski Stadium
Saracens v Leicester Tigers 15h30 Allianz Park
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Glasgow Warriors 15 13 0 2 65
Munster 15 9 0 6 49
Cheetahs 15 8 0 7 41
Cardiff Blues 15 7 0 8 33
Connacht 15 5 0 10 28
Ospreys 15 5 0 10 26
Zebre 15 4 0 11 21
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Leinster 15 12 0 3 57
Scarlets 15 11 0 4 54
Edinburgh 15 10 0 5 46
Ulster 15 9 1 5 46
Treviso 15 8 0 7 38
Dragons 15 2 2 11 17
Kings 15 0 0 15 4