Leinster in dramatic win over Connacht

Mon, 01 Jan 2018 17:55
Large sean cronin leinster 800

PRO14 MATCH REPORT: Max Deegan and Luke McGrath scored tries as Leinster survived a monumental late onslaught by a spirited Connacht in a tense New Year's Day clash at the RDS Arena.

Matt Healy's fine individual score gave the visitors hope in the last ten minutes in a fiercely-contested all-Irish encounter.

The triumph meant Leinster keep pace with Scarlets at the top of Conference A, but they were made to work incredibly hard for their Round 12 victory.

In blustery conditions in the capital, Conference B outfit Connacht struck the first blow when Jack Carty sent a penalty sailing between the posts.

Jonathan Sexton levelled minutes later with a penalty of his own, converting at the second attempt after his first fell off the tee due to the winds, despite the Ireland fly-half picking it up and drop-kicking it through.

After cagey opening 20 minutes, the hosts sprung into life and nearly went over. Luke McGrath's lovely dummy set up Rob Kearney, who hared directly for the posts only to be denied by a tremendous covering challenge by Kieran Marmion.

Dan Leavy went for glory on the follow-up, but was held up over the line.

However, six minutes later, smart work on the left led to the hosts' opening score – Noel Reid and James Lowe displaying terrific handling to set up Max Deegan, who crashed over in the left corner. Sexton missing a difficult kick from the touchline.

Carty replied immediately for Connacht with another three points and they got their noses in front on the stroke of half-time.

A great break from Bundee Aki eventually led to prop Finlay Bealham burrowing over, Carty making no mistake with the extras.

Sexton edged Leinster in front with a long-range penalty ten minutes after the restart and they moved eight points clear on the hour mark when Luke McGrath squeezing over after heavy pressure near the Connacht line.

The ever-reliable Sexton made no mistake with the boot to make it 21-13.

But back came the visitors with a rally of their own five minutes later, skipper John Muldoon being held up over the line and going close for a second time from the resulting five-metre scrum.

Connacht threw everything time and again in a dramatic passage of play, but found themselves against a wall of dark blue.

They eventually switched play wide and Matt Healy finished wonderfully after sidestepping inside three tackles. Healy missed the conversion in what was his first slip of the day from the tee.

With just ten minutes to go, the game was set for a grandstand finish. Connacht hurled bodies forward in desperate search of a breakthrough, but Leinster's defence remained solid and despite a mammoth 26-phase period of play at the end of the game, the visitors were eventually penalised for not releasing the ball and Leinster held on.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Deegan, McGrath
Con: Sexton
Pens: Sexton 3

For Connacht:
Bealham, Healy
Con: Carty
Pens: Carty 2


Leinster: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Fergus McFadden, 1 Garry Ringrose, 12 Noel Reid, 11 James Lowe, 10 Johnny Sexton (captain), 9 Luke McGrath, 8 Max Deegan, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Dan Leavy, 5 Ian Nagle, 4 Ross Molony, 3 Andrew Porter, 2 Seán Cronin, 1 Peter Dooley.
Replacements: 16 Bryan Byrne, 17 Ed Byrne, 18 Michael Bent, 19 Mick Kearney, 20 Scott Fardy, 21 Nick McCarthy, 22 Cathal Marsh, 23 Rory O'Loughlin.

Connacht: 15 Tiernan O'Halloran, 14 Cian Kelleher, 13 Bundee Aki, 12 Tom Farrell, 11 Matt Healy, 10 Jack Carty, 9 Kieran Marmion, 8 John Muldoon (captain), 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Eoghan Masterson, 5 James Cannon, 4 Ultan Dillane, 3 Finlay Bealham, 2 Tom McCartney, 1 Denis Coulson.
Replacements: 16 Shane Delahunt, 17 Peter McCabe, 18 Conor Carey, 19 Quinn Roux, 20 Naulia Dawai, 21 Caolin Blade, 22 Eoin Griffin, 23 Niyi Adeolokun.

Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant referees: Frank Murphy, Eddie Hogan-O'Connell (Ireland)
TMO: Peter Fitzgibbon (Ireland)

Source: @PRO14Official

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 20 January 2018
Montpellier v Leinster 13h00 Altrad Stadium
Glasgow Warriors v Exeter Chiefs 13h00 Scotstoun Stadium
Cheetahs v Kings 15h00 Bloemfontein
Saracens v Northampton Saints 15h15 Allianz Park
Clermont Auvergne v Ospreys 15h15 Stade Marcel-Michelin
Treviso v Bath 17h30 Stadio Comunale di Monigo
Scarlets v Toulon 17h30 Parc y Scarlets
Sun, 21 January 2018
Leicester Tigers v Racing Metro 13h00 Welford Road
Munster v Castres 13h00 Thomond Park
La Rochelle v Harlequins 15h15 Stade Marcel-Deflandre
Wasps v Ulster 15h15 Ricoh Arena
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Glasgow Warriors 13 12 0 1 58
Munster 13 8 0 5 42
Cheetahs 11 6 0 5 30
Cardiff Blues 13 5 0 8 25
Connacht 13 4 0 9 24
Ospreys 13 4 0 9 21
Zebre 13 3 0 10 17
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Scarlets 13 11 0 2 53
Leinster 13 11 0 2 51
Ulster 13 8 1 4 40
Edinburgh 13 8 0 5 37
Treviso 13 6 0 7 29
Dragons 13 2 1 10 14
Kings 11 0 0 10 4