Leinster ease to seven-try win over Zebre

Sat, 07 Apr 2018 21:25
Large leinster v zebre 800

PRO14 REPORT: Max Deegan scored two tries in an impressive display as Leinster cruised to a bonus-point victory over Zebre at the RDS Arena.

The Conference B leaders never seemed to get out of first or second gear, but secured a maximum five points as they look to secure a crucial home semifinal in the play-offs.

James Lowe and Rory O'Loughlin gave Leinster the lead at half-time before Deegan's opportunistic first try and well taken second really took the game away from the Italians.

Lowe added a second of his own after good work from Ross Byrne, before substitutes Vakh Abdaladze and Bryan Byrne finished the scoring.

Zebre started the game well, but found Leinster's defence difficult to break down and the home side took the lead with their first real attack of the game.

Lowe kicked forward, forcing Matteo Minozzi to clear his lines, and from the ensuing line-out, Leinster won a penalty.

Lowe took quickly and a couple of phases later, the winger muscled his way over the whitewash, with R Byrne adding the conversion.

Zebre nearly hit back as Leonard Krumov thundered towards the try line, but Jamison Gibson-Park hauled him down and Leinster regrouped.

Zebre put points on the board through a Carlo Canna penalty late in the half only to allow Leinster in minutes later to extend their advantage.

Barry Daly broke through the Zebre defence and streaked into the opposition 22, where a few phases of quick ball and an excellent offload from hooker James Tracy eventually led to O'Loughlin sliding over in the right corner.

Any Zebre hopes of mounting a second-half comeback were dented 40 seconds after the break as Deegan capitalised on Marcello Violi's dawdling at the back of a ruck to cross for Leinster's third score.

The Italian side found themselves bearing down on the Leinster try line once more as Valerio Bernabo charged through, but they failed to make the most of the territory, coming away with another Canna penalty.

Leinster secured the bonus point on the hour mark as another quickly taken penalty undid Zebre.

Deegan's quick tap set the backs in motion with O'Loughlin crashing over the gain line before the No.8 got himself out on the right flank to finish off the move in style.

Zebre faded after that and Leinster showed their strength in depth as Abdaladze and B Byrne muscled over to make the scoreline very healthy from the home side's point of view.

The scorers:

For Leinster:
Lowe 2, O'Loughlin, Deegan 2, Abdaladze, B Byrne
Cons: R Byrne 3

For Zebre:
Canna 2


Leinster: 15 Barry Daly, 14 Adam Byrne, 13 Rory O’Loughlin, 12 Conor O’Brien, 11 James Lowe, 10 Ross Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Max Deegan, 7 Dan Leavy, 6 Josh Murphy, 5 Mick Kearney, 4 Devin Toner (captain), 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 James Tracy, 1 Cian Healy.
Replacements: 16 Bryan Byrne, 17 Peter Dooley, 18 Vakh Abdaladze, 19 Ross Molony, 20 Peadar Timmins, 21 Nick McCarthy, 22 Ciarán Frawley, 23 Gavin Mullin.

Zebre: 15 Matteo Minozzi, 14 Gabriele Di Giulio, 13 Giulio Bisegni, 12 Faialaga Afamasaga, 11 Mattia Bellini, 10 Carlo Canna, 9 Marcello Violi, 8 David Sisi, 7 Jacopo Sarto, 6 Valerio Bernabò, 5 George Biagi (captain), 4 Leonard Krumov, 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Andrea Lovotti.
Replacements: 16 Roberto Tenga, 17 Andrea De Marchi, 18 Cruze Ah-Nau, 19 Eduardo Bello, 20 Luhandre Luus, 21 Guglielmo Palazzani, 22 Serafin Bordoli, 23 Giovanbattista Venditti.

Referee: Ian Davies (Wales)
Assistant referees: Dan Jones (Wales), Simon Rees (Wales)
TMO: Jon Mason (Wales)

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 27 April 2018
Hurricanes v Sunwolves 07h35 Wellington
Stormers v Rebels 13h00 Newlands
Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 18h45 Welford Road
Sat, 28 April 2018
Reds v Lions 05h05 Suncorp Stadium
Blues v Jaguares 07h35 Eden Park
Brumbies v Crusaders 09h45 Canberra
Kings v Cheetahs 13h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 14h00 Sandy Park
Worcester Warriors v Harlequins 14h00 Sixways
Gloucester v Bath 14h00 Kingsholm
Connacht v Leinster 14h05 Sportsground
Dragons v Scarlets 14h05 Rodney Parade
Bulls v Highlanders 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Treviso v Zebre 16h00 Stadio Monigo
Cardiff Blues v Ospreys 16h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Munster v Ulster 16h35 Thomond Park
Edinburgh v Glasgow Warriors 18h35 Myreside
Sun, 29 April 2018
London Irish v Saracens 14h00 Madejski Stadium
Wasps v Northampton Saints 14h00 Ricoh Arena
Sun, 22 April 2018
Racing Metro v Munster 27 | 22
Brumbies v Jaguares 20 | 25
Sat, 21 April 2018
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 36 | 15
Zebre v Ospreys 37 | 14
Sharks v Stormers 24 | 17
Leinster v Scarlets 38 | 16
Bulls v Rebels 28 | 10
Reds v Chiefs 12 | 36
Crusaders v Sunwolves 33 | 11
Fri, 20 April 2018
Waratahs v Lions 0 | 29
Blues v Highlanders 16 | 34
Sun, 15 April 2018
Saracens v Bath 41 | 6
London Irish v Exeter Chiefs 5 | 45
Sat, 14 April 2018
Leinster v Treviso 15 | 17
Kings v Cardiff Blues 12 | 45
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Glasgow Warriors 20 15 1 4 75
Munster 20 13 0 7 67
Cheetahs 20 11 0 9 58
Cardiff Blues 20 11 0 9 53
Ospreys 20 8 0 12 40
Connacht 20 6 0 14 34
Zebre 20 6 0 14 32
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
Leinster 20 14 1 5 70
Scarlets 20 13 1 6 65
Edinburgh 20 14 0 6 64
Ulster 20 12 1 7 60
Treviso 20 11 0 9 54
Dragons 20 2 2 16 20
Kings 20 1 0 19 11