De Jager facing a time out

Sun, 09 Oct 2016 08:13
Large lood de jager springboks looks 800

NEWS: Springbok lock Lodewyk de Jager faces an anxious wait after he was cited for foul play during his side's 15-57 defeat at the hands of New Zealand in Durban on Saturday.

De Jager is alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (h) A player must not charge into a ruck or maul. Charging includes any contact made without use of the arms, or without grasping a player.

The incident occurred in the 72nd minute of the match and saw de Jager's elbow make contact with the head of an opponent and referee Jerome Garces had no hesitation in handing him a yellow card.

However, upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed, in his opinion, that the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAAR Duty Judicial Officer Adam Casselden. All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.

*Law 10.4 (h) A player must not charge into a ruck or maul. Charging includes any contact made without use of the arms, or without grasping a player.

There are currently no matches being played
FIXTURE GMT VENUE
Sun, 22 January 2017
Toulouse v Connacht 15h15 Stade Ernest Wallon
Zebre v Wasps 15h15 Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi
RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP
MORE LOGS
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand 6 6 0 0 30
Australia 6 3 0 3 14
South Africa 6 2 0 4 10
Argentina 6 1 0 5 5