Boks release quintet for Currie Cup duty

Tue, 15 Aug 2017 11:52
Large warrick gelant springboks 2017 800

NEWS: The Springboks have released five players to their provincial teams ahead of the start of this year's Rugby Championship.

Warrick Gelant (fullback), Lizo Gqoboka (prop, both Blue Bulls), Teboho Mohoje (flank), Francois Venter (centre, both Free State Cheetahs) and Dillyn Leyds (wing, Western Province) were released back to their provincial teams for Currie Cup duty, it was confirmed on Tuesday.
The five players are members of the Springbok squad, who are currently fine-tuning their preparations for the weekend's opening Rugby Championship match against Argentina.
They will be released to their respective Provinces on Tuesday.
The Springbok matchday squad will be named on Thursday while the 28-man squad that leaves for Salta, Argentina on Wednesday, August 23 will be announced next Tuesday, August 22.


There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 21 January 2018
Munster v Castres 13h00 Thomond Park
Leicester Tigers v Racing Metro 13h00 Welford Road
La Rochelle v Harlequins 15h15 Stade Marcel-Deflandre
Wasps v Ulster 15h15 Ricoh Arena
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand 6 6 0 0 28
Australia 6 2 2 2 15
South Africa 6 2 2 1 14
Argentina 6 0 0 6 0