England change two for Hamilton

Thu, 01 Feb 2018 19:29
Large simon amor sevens 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Simon Amor has made two changes to the England Sevens side that will play in the New Zealand leg of the Sevens World Series in Hamilton on Saturday and Sunday.

Drawn in Pool B, England will face Russia, Papua New Guinea and South Africa in the pool stage of the tournament on day one.
Alex Davis will miss the Hamilton leg after sustaining an ankle injury last weekend in Sydney after scoring twice within two minutes in England's opening game against Spain.
19-year-old Ryan Olowofela, who has come through the England Sevens academy, played the role of 13th man in Australia in what was his series debut and now forms part of Simon Amor's 12-man squad for Hamilton with Will Edwards stepping in as 13th man.
"We started the season well in Dubai but we've just got our attacking game a little bit wrong in Cape Town and Sydney. We've been working on this based upon how the other teams have evolved their defences over the past two tournaments and we're ready and excited for Hamilton now," said England coach Simon Amor.
"It's obviously hugely disappointing to lose Alex Davis in the first half of the first game on his return from injury in Sydney, but this provides a great opportunity for Ryan Olowofela who made his World Series debut against some of the best teams in the world last weekend.
"At just 19 years old Ryan really held his own and he's progressed even further in training this week, so we're excited to see what he can do in Hamilton."
England: Dan Bibby, Tom Bowen, Phil Burgess, Richard de Carpentier, Mike Ellery, Ruaridh McConnochie, Tom Mitchell (captain), Ollie Lindsay-Hague, Dan Norton, Ryan Olowofela, James Rodwell, Ethan Waddleton.

Thirteenth man: Will Edwards

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 20 April 2018
Blues v Highlanders 07h35 Eden Park
Waratahs v Lions 09h45 Sydney
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 19h35 Kingspan Stadium
Sat, 21 April 2018
Crusaders v Sunwolves 07h35 Christchurch
Reds v Chiefs 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Rebels 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Leinster v Scarlets 14h30 Dublin
Sharks v Stormers 15h15 Durban
Zebre v Ospreys 16h45 Parma
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 17h05 Kingspan Stadium
Sun, 22 April 2018
Brumbies v Jaguares 06h05 Canberra
Racing Metro v Munster 14h15 Paris
Pool 0
Team P W D L Pts
Spain Sevens 0 0 0 0 20
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
South Korea 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Uruguay 0 0 0 1 1
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens