Vegas spotlight on new BlitzBok

Fri, 02 Mar 2018 13:32
Large muller du plessis blitzboks 2018 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Muller du Plessis will become BlitzBok No.168 this weekend when he takes to the field for the Springbok Sevens in the USA Sevens, to be played at the Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell included the 19-year-old in the final 12-man playing squad for the tournament, the fifth of the World Rugby Sevens Series, where Du Plessis will realise his dream to represent his country at this level.
"We are very thankful and hope to return that investment with a good performance," said Powell.
"We have a number of young players in the squad and we have a very competitive pool, but we will do our best. They need to go out and play as this is the only way they will learn and develop."
The Blitzboks face Wales and Canada on Friday.
"We will come up against two very different opponents on the first day," said Powell.
"Wales are very elusive and like to throw the ball around, while the Canadians are very direct and physical. Hopefully we can give the younger players proper game time this weekend, but we need to start well to make that possible."
Springbok Sevens squad: Ryan Oosthuizen, Philip Snyman (captain), Dylan Sage, Zain Davids, Werner Kok, Kyle Brown, Branco du Preez , Muller du Plessis, Selvyn Davids, Cecil Afrika, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Stedman Gans, Ruhan Nel. 

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 May 2018
Crusaders v Hurricanes 07h35 Christchurch
Rebels v Sunwolves 09h45 Melbourne
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sat, 26 May 2018
Chiefs v Waratahs 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Pool 0
Team P W D L Pts
Spain Sevens 0 0 0 0 20
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
Uruguay 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Japan Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens
South Korea