Human to lead new-look BlitzBoks in Hong Kong

Thu, 29 Mar 2018 12:23
Large dewald human blitzboks 2017 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Dewald Human will captain a new-look Springbok Sevens squad – containing five uncapped players – to the Hong Kong Sevens next weekend.

Human is one of six players who were part of the BlitzBoks squad that won the World Rugby Sevens Series in the 2016/17 season who will travel east on Saturday, while Heino Bezuidenhout, Mosolwa Mafuma, James Murphy, Rhyno Smith and Mfundo Ndhlovu will all make their Springbok Sevens debuts in Hong Kong.

Ryan Oosthuizen, Zain Davids, Marco Labuschagne, Selvyn Davids, Muller du Plessis and Stedman Gans all played in Vancouver earlier this month, where South Africa claimed the bronze medal at the Canada Sevens, the sixth tournament in the series of ten. Human last played for the BlitzBoks in London in 2017.

All the debutants are contracted with the SA Rugby Sevens Academy and have progressed through the Sevens structures.

The 21-year-old Bezuidenhout, who played for the Tuks in the Young Guns tournament of the Varsity Cup last year, captained the South African Under-18 Sevens team that won gold at the Commonwealth Youth Games in Samoa in 2015.

Mafuma, who earlier represented Shimlas in the Varsity Cup, played for the Academy side in tournaments in France, Germany, Dubai, Uruguay and Chile in the last year.

Ndhlovu, who represented Mpumalanga for two years in the U18 Craven Week, joined the Academy straight out of school and also played in Germany and South America, while Smith has Currie Cup and Super Rugby experience with the Leopards and the Cell C Sharks.

Murphy joined the SA Rugby Sevens Academy in January and will travel in national colours for the first time. The 22-year-old University of Stellenbosch student in financial planning represented DHL Western Province at the Interprovincial Sevens tournament and in November played for the SA All Stars at the Safland Sevens in Namibia.

"We certainly have a good mix of potential and experience in the squad and I have believe we will be competitive in Hong Kong," said interim coach, Marius Schoeman.
Regular BlitzBok coach Neil Powell and a number of regular players on the series will remain in Stellenbosch for the next 10 days as they prepare for the Commonwealth Games. Oosthuizen, Selvyn Davids and Zain Davids will join that squad in Australia after the Hong Kong Sevens. 

For Schoeman, who debuted in Hong Kong as a Blitzbok in 2001, the tournament offers multiple opportunities for his squad: "Hong Kong delivers new faces and new stars every year and chances are very good that some of those will come out of this squad. 

"This is a great opportunity for us to broaden the base of experience in the squad, to test our players on an iconic stage and most of all, to test our structures with a younger group of players."

Schoeman says the absence of senior players provides the prospect of new stars emerging for South Africa.

"Any team will miss some of the names not here, but this is a wonderful opportunity for this group of players to show what they can do. I am very excited to be part of this venture,” the former national sevens captain explained.

Human, who will take over as captain from Philip Snyman for this tournament, will add his name to an illustrious group of players to lead his country, which includes Schoeman, Powell, Frankie Horne, Kyle Brown, Mzwandile Stick, Mpho Mbiyozo, Jonathan Mokuena and Paul Treu. 

"It is a great honour to lead the team," Human said.

"We have a strong leadership core in the squad, so I believe my job will be easy. We have good systems in place and if we execute that well, the results will come. We cannot wait to go out there and play."

The Springbok Sevens team: Heino Bezuidenhout, Ryan Oosthuizen, Zain Davids, Marco Labuschagne, Mosolwa Mafuma, James Murphy, Selvyn Davids, Dewald Human (captain), Rhyno Smith, Stedman Gans, Muller du Plessis, Mfundo Ndhlovu, Sandile Ngcobo.

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 27 April 2018
Hurricanes v Sunwolves 07h35 Wellington
Stormers v Rebels 13h00 Newlands
Leicester Tigers v Newcastle Falcons 18h45 Welford Road
Sat, 28 April 2018
Reds v Lions 05h05 Suncorp Stadium
Blues v Jaguares 07h35 Eden Park
Brumbies v Crusaders 09h45 Canberra
Kings v Cheetahs 13h00 Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium
Exeter Chiefs v Sale Sharks 14h00 Sandy Park
Worcester Warriors v Harlequins 14h00 Sixways
Gloucester v Bath 14h00 Kingsholm
Connacht v Leinster 14h05 Sportsground
Dragons v Scarlets 14h05 Rodney Parade
Bulls v Highlanders 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Treviso v Zebre 16h00 Stadio Monigo
Cardiff Blues v Ospreys 16h35 Cardiff Arms Park
Munster v Ulster 16h35 Thomond Park
Edinburgh v Glasgow Warriors 18h35 Myreside
Sun, 29 April 2018
London Irish v Saracens 14h00 Madejski Stadium
Wasps v Northampton Saints 14h00 Ricoh Arena
Sun, 22 April 2018
Racing Metro v Munster 27 | 22
Brumbies v Jaguares 20 | 25
Sat, 21 April 2018
Ulster v Glasgow Warriors 36 | 15
Zebre v Ospreys 37 | 14
Sharks v Stormers 24 | 17
Leinster v Scarlets 38 | 16
Bulls v Rebels 28 | 10
Reds v Chiefs 12 | 36
Crusaders v Sunwolves 33 | 11
Fri, 20 April 2018
Waratahs v Lions 0 | 29
Blues v Highlanders 16 | 34
Sun, 15 April 2018
Saracens v Bath 41 | 6
London Irish v Exeter Chiefs 5 | 45
Sat, 14 April 2018
Leinster v Treviso 15 | 17
Kings v Cardiff Blues 12 | 45
Pool 0
Team P W D L Pts
Spain Sevens 0 0 0 0 20
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
South Korea 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Uruguay 0 0 0 1 1
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens