Changing of the guard at BlitzBoks

Thu, 19 Apr 2018 11:16
Large selvyn davids blitzboks 2018 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENTS: BlitzBoks head coach Neil Powell will be relying heavily on some of the Academy players that impressed in Hong Kong for the upcoming Singapore Sevens.

Powell included seven young guns from the team that finished third in Hong Kong in his Singapore Sevens squad – Heino Bezuidenhout, Ryan Oosthuizen, Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Stedman Gans, Muller du Plessis and James Murphy, who is the travelling reserve.
"One of our objectives this season was to expand the depth of our playing squad and because of that I was not forced into any selections due to injuries," said Powell. "This squad is our best one for this tournament as everyone is really pushing for a starting position."
Joining them on the flight to Singapore will be Kyle Brown and six other Team SA members from the recent Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia, where the team placed fourth – Dylan Sage, Werner Kok, Rosko Specman, Cecil Afrika, Siviwe Soyizwapi and Zain Davids, the only player who played in both tournaments.
Oosthuizen pulled out of the Gold Coast event due to injury with Selvyn Davids joining Team SA as a reserve, but he did not get any game time.
Specman makes a return to the World Rugby Sevens Series after he missed the North American leg, while Brown will captain the side for the second time this year, having done so in Hamilton, New Zealand too.
He again takes over from Philip Snyman, with the regular captain along with some senior players been given a rest after a heavy workload during the season. .

At the other end of his career as Brown, Bezuidenhout will add a second tournament cap to his name after his debut in Hong Kong at the beginning of the month.

"It was tough to name this squad, due to the short turnaround," said Powell.

"We are also looking ahead at the final two tournaments of the series in London and Paris, as well as the Rugby Sevens World Cup in July, so the squad was picked with that in mind. We are going to Singapore to perform according to the standards we have set as a Springbok Sevens team."

The BlitzBoks play Samoa, Canada and Argentina in Pool C of the tournament, on the opening day, Saturday, April 28.
Springbok Sevens team: Heino Bezuidenhout, Ryan Oosthuizen, Kyle Brown (captain), Zain Davids, Dylan Sage, Rosko Specman, Selvyn Davids, Cecil Afrika, Werner Kok, Stedman Gans, Muller du Plessis, Siviwe Soyizwapi, James Murphy (travelling reserve).

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 25 May 2018
Rebels v Sunwolves 09h45 Melbourne
Jaguares v Sharks 19h40 Estadio Jose Amalfitani
Sat, 26 May 2018
Chiefs v Waratahs 07h35 Hamilton
Reds v Highlanders 09h45 Suncorp Stadium
Bulls v Brumbies 13h05 Loftus Versfeld
Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 14h00 London
Stormers v Lions 15h15 Newlands
Leinster v Scarlets 17h00 Dublin
Fri, 01 June 2018
Highlanders v Hurricanes 07h35 Dunedin
Pool 0
Team P W D L Pts
Spain Sevens 0 0 0 0 20
Papua New Guinea 0 1 0 0 1
Uruguay 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 00
Team P W D L Pts
Japan Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool 19
Team P W D L Pts
England Sevens 0 0 0 0 19
Pool 20
Team P W D L Pts
Uganda Sevens 0 0 0 0 2
Pool A
Team P W D L Pts
Fiji Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Samoa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Scotland Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Canada Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool B
Team P W D L Pts
New Zealand Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Australia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
France Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool C
Team P W D L Pts
United States Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Argentina Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Pool D
Team P W D L Pts
South Africa Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Kenya Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Russia Sevens 0 0 0 0 0
Team P W D L Pts
Wales Sevens
South Korea