Six Nations XV

Fri, 02 Feb 2018 15:10

The Six Nations started in 2000 with the introduction of newboys Italy.

The team we are going to pick is, therefore, 2000 to 2017. It cuts out great postwar players like JPR, Serge Blanco, Gerald Davies, Barry John, Gareth, Butterfield and Davies, Philippe Sella and, even further back, Adrian Stoop and Wakers Wakefield.

It means that the players now fall within the compass of most rugby watchers, and their chance - again - to know better than the selectors.

First of all the selectors have invited players to trials

Fullbacks: Mike Brown, Leigh Halfpenny, Cédric Heymans, Stuart Hogg, Rob Kearney

Wings: Philippe Bernat-Salles, Tommy Bowe, Vincent Clerc, Ben Cohen, Christophe Dominci, Yoann Huget, Rory Lamont, George North, Aurélien Rougerie, Tony Trimble, Shane Williams

Centres: Gordon D'Arcy, Wesley Fofana, Scott Gibbs, will Greenwood, Brian O'Driscoll, Jamie Roberts, Mike Tindall

Flyhalves: Owen Farrell, Neil Jenkins, Christophe Lamaison, Ronan O'Gara, Jonathan Sexton, Gregor Townsend, Jonny Wilkinson

Scrumhalves: Fabien Galthié, Rob Howley, Greig Laidlaw, Conor Murray, Alessandro Troncon, Dimitri Yachvili

Looseheads:  Christian Califano, Cian Healy, Jason Leonard, Mako Vunipolo

Hookers: Rory Best, Jamie George, Leonardo Ghiraldini, Raphaël Ibañez, William Servat, Keith Wood

Tightheads: Martín Castrogiovanni, Pieter de Villiers, John Hayes, Adam Jones, Sylvain Marconnet, Nicolas Mas, Euan Murray, Phil Vickery 

Locks: Steve Borthwick, Ian Gough, Danny Grewcock, Richie Grey, Martin Johnson, Alun Wyn Jones, Paul O'Connell, Fabien Pelous

Flanks: Neil Back, John Barclay, Mauro Bergamasco, Colin Charvis, Thierry Dusautoir, Nick Easter, Anthony Foley, Richard Hill, Sean O'Brien, Chris Robshaw

No.8: Taulupe Faletau, Imanol Harinordoquoy, Olivier Magne, Sergio Parisse, Louis Picamoles, Billy Vunipola

After we have watched them in the trials and discussed their performances, the selectors will sit down for the unforgiving task of  picking their team.

The chairman of selectors will announce the team to the world. The press will be excited, the players relieved or disappointed. Then chairman will give no reasons for selections or non-selections, as that will only add fuel to the fire.

Six Nations 2000-17 XV

15 Rob Kearney
14 Shane Williams
13 Brian O'Driscoll
12 Will Greenwood
11 Christophe Dominci
10 Jonny Wilkinson
9 Conor Murray
8 Sergio Parisse
7 Thierry Dusautoir
6 Richard Hill
5 Richie Grey
4 Martin Johnson
3 John Hayes
2 Keith Wood
1 Jason Leonard
Replacements: 16 Raphaël Ibañez, 17 Martín Castrogiovanni, 18 Christian Califano, 19 Fabien Pelous, 20 Olivier Magne, 21 Greig Laidlaw, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Aurélien Rougerie

And the captain is Martin Johnson

There are currently no matches being played
Sun, 18 February 2018
Wasps v Exeter Chiefs 15h00 Ricoh Arena
Dragons v Treviso 15h30 Rodney Parade
Mon, 19 February 2018
NMMU-Madibaz v Wits 14h45 Port Elizabeth
Maties v CUT-Ixias 16h30 Cape Town
UCT-Ikeys v Shimlas 16h30 Cape Town
NWU-Pukke v UJ 17h00 Potchefstroom
Fri, 23 February 2018
Dragons v Edinburgh 22h00 Rodney Parade
Highlanders v Blues 06h35 Dunedin
Rebels v Reds 08h45 Melbourne
Munster v Glasgow Warriors 19h00 Irish Independent Park
Leinster v Kings 19h35 RDS
Scarlets v Ulster 19h35 Parc y Scarlets
France v Italy 20h00 Paris
Sat, 24 February 2018
Sunwolves v Brumbies 04h15 Tokyo
Crusaders v Chiefs 06h35 Christchurch
Waratahs v Stormers 08h45 Allianz Park
Treviso v Connacht 12h00 Stadio Monigo
Bath v Sale Sharks 12h30 Recreation Ground
Lions v Jaguares 13h05 Johannesburg
Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 14h00 Sandy Park
Ireland v Wales 14h15 Aviva Stadium
Gloucester v Wasps 14h30 Kingsholm
Harlequins v Newcastle Falcons 15h00 Twickenham Stoop
Bulls v Hurricanes 15h15 Loftus Versfeld
Scotland v England 16h45 BT Murrayfield
Ospreys v Cheetahs 17h30 Liberty Stadium
Team P W D L Pts
Ireland 2 2 0 0 9
England 2 2 0 0 9
Wales 2 1 0 1 6
Scotland 2 1 0 1 4
France 2 0 0 2 2
Italy 2 0 0 2 0