Donald the Chiefs' midfield bolter

Thu, 21 Jul 2016 20:28

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Veteran All Black Stephen Donald will start at inside centre when the Chiefs face the Stormers in their Super Rugby quarterfinal showdown at Newlands on Saturday.

His inclusion is one of six changes - some forced - made by coach Dave Rennie.

Donald comes in for injured centre Seta Tamanivalu, who has been ruled out by a knee injury.

Anton Lienert-Brown moves from inside to outside centre.

Tom Sanders has been handed the No.8 jersey as the Chiefs also shuffled the back row to cover the expected absence of Liam Messam.

The Chiefs had pushed their luck with SANZAR, but Messam was ruled out of the play-offs because he opted to chase a spot in the New Zealand Sevens team heading for the Olympics and did not play Super Rugby.

However, when he lost out on a spot in the national Sevens team, he dashed back to the Chiefs.

Messam, who was not a member of the original Super Rugby squad handed to SANZAR back in February, featured in just two late-season matches and not the required four.

The Chiefs knew the regulations, but still asked for dispensation, which was denied.

Sanders moves from blindside flank to the back of the scrum, with Taleni Seu stepping claiming the No.6 jersey.

Brad Webber will start at scrumhalf, while Sam Nicol will play on the right wing.

There are also changes on the bench - with Mitchell Graham recovering from a hamstring injury to re-join the matchday 23. Tevita Koloamatangi could make his first appearance in 2016, having been sidelined for most of the season with injuries.

Among those not considered for selection are Nepo Laulala, Mitchell Karpik, Pauliasi Manu, Sam Henwood, Johan Bardoul, Glen Fisiiahi, Maama Vaipulu, Michael Allardice, Michael Leitch, James Tucker, Charlie Ngatai, Seta Tamanivalu, Andrew Horrell, Hiroshi Yamashita, Augustine Pulu (All Blacks Sevens).

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sam McNicol, 13 Anton Lienert-Brown, 12 Stephen Donald, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (7co-captain), 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tom Sanders, 7 Sam Cane (co-captain), 6 Taleni Seu, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Atu Moli, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames.
Replacements: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Siegfried Fisi'ihoi, 18 Mitchell Graham, 19 Tevita Koloamatangi, 20 Lachlan Boshier, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Toni Pulu, 23 Shaun Stevenson.

Date: Saturday, July 23
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19.00 (17.00 GMT; 05.00, Sunday July 24 NZ time)
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Jaco van Heerden (South Africa), AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)

There are currently no matches being played
Fri, 30 September 2016
Golden Lions v Sharks 15h00 Johannesburg
EP Kings v Pumas 16h00 Nelspruit
Western Province v Boland 17h10 Cape Town
Dragons v Glasgow Warriors 18h35 Rodney Parade
Connacht v Edinburgh 18h35 Sportsground
Northampton Saints v Exeter Chiefs 18h45 Franklin's Gardens
Bristol v Saracens 18h45 Ashton Gate
Sat, 01 October 2016
Free State Cheetahs v Griquas 12h00 Bloemfontein
Sale Sharks v Leicester Tigers 13h30 AJ Bell Stadium
Gloucester v Bath 14h00 Kingsholm
South Africa v Australia 15h05 Loftus Versfeld
Munster v Zebre 16h00 Thomond Park
Ulster v Ospreys 17h30 Kingspan Stadium
Cardiff Blues v Leinster 18h35 BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park
Cardiff Blues v Cardiff Blues 19h05 Stadio Monigo
Sun, 02 October 2016
Argentina v New Zealand 22h10 Ascoli Piceno
Wasps v Harlequins 13h30 Ricoh Arena
Worcester Warriors v Newcastle Falcons 14h00 Sixways
Tue, 04 October 2016
Edinburgh v Ulster 19h35 BT Murrayfield
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 10 0 5 43
Waratahs 15 8 0 7 40
Rebels 15 7 0 8 31
Reds 15 3 1 11 17
Force 15 2 0 13 13
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Hurricanes 15 11 0 4 53
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 52
Chiefs 15 11 0 4 51
Crusaders 15 11 0 4 50
Blues 15 8 1 6 39
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 1 4 51
Bulls 15 9 1 5 42
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Sunwolves 15 1 1 13 9
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 14 11 0 3 52
Sharks 15 9 1 5 43
Jaguares 14 3 0 11 18
Kings 15 2 0 13 9