Brumbies shake off the cobwebs

Sat, 28 Jan 2017 09:55
Large brumbies v aus barbarians 2017 800

PRE-SEASON REPORT: The Brumbies claimed a comfortable victory in their opening trial of the season as they defeated the Australian Barbarians 59-0 at Viking Park in Erindale.

The Canberra tries scored nine tries and shook off the cobwebs with some enterprising attacking rugby.

In a match played across twenty minute quarters, there was intent from the Brumbies from the off as they tore into the Barbarians, recycling quick possession and racking up the phases.

Joe Powell's sharpness at the breakdown was evident and it was the scrumhalf who created the opening score in the fourth minute spraying a flat pass wide that went through several pairs of hands, culminating in Andrew Muirhead crossing in the corner.

It wasn't long before the home fans were cheering again as the Brumbies went over for a second try. Wharenui Hawera kicked to touch from a penalty and, after successfully claiming the resultant line-out, the Brumbies drove forward and Chris Alcock was on hand to pick up and force his way over from close range, Hawera converting from wide out.

And the Brumbies had a third try to celebrate before the end of the first quarter, Aidan Toua on the end of a backline move that carved open the space for the fullback to sprint through. Hawera landed a second impressive conversion as the Brumbies took control.

The highlight of a one-sided opening half was probably the score from Josh Mann-Rea in the 27th minute, the hooker on hand to benefit from a silky one-handed offload from Ben Alexander to crash over after sustained pressure close to the Barbarians tryline. Hawera's third successful kick gave the Brumbies a 26-0 half-time lead.

A raft of changes at the interval meant that the Brumbies fluidity and cohesion was lacking in the early stages of the third quarter allowing the Barbarians some much needed possession and territory and, indirectly, leading to a yellow card for replacement flank Jordan Smiler, sent to the sin bin for a late tackle.

Some fierce Barbarians tackling, coupled with some errors from the Brumbies with ball in hand, meant that the third quarter degenerated into a scrappy affair. To their credit, both teams attempted to keep the ball alive at every opportunity, not helped by the energy sapping heat.

The introduction of prop Faalelei Sione in the fourth quarter had an immediate impact at scrum-time, the youngster helping the pack force the Barbarians onto the back foot with referee Nick Berry awarding a penalty try when a scrum close to the line was collapsed. Under the new law amendment trial the score was awarded the full seven points with no conversion required.

Shortly after the Brumbies had their sixth score as Jordan Jackson-Hope skipped through a tackle to cross, Isaac Thompson adding the extras and the flyhalf bagged another conversion moments later as Ben Hyne was rewarded for a quality display, forcing his way through a plethora of bodies to touch down under the posts.

And the scoring was rounded off in the final minute with a brace of tries as Jamie Kotz chased through a Mac Hanen grubber to win the race to the ball, before Jackson-Hope crossed for his second, converted by Henry Speight, to finish off a satisfactory evening.

The scorers:

For Brumbies:

Tries: Muirhead, Alcock, Toua, Mann-Rea, Penalty Try, Jackson-Hope 2, Hyne, Kotz
Cons: Hawera 3, Thompson 2, Speight, Penalty Try (automatic conversion) 

For Australian Barbarians: None


Brumbies: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Andrew Muirhead, 13 Andrew Smith, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Lausii Taliauli, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9. Joe Powell, 8 Lolo Fakaosilea, 7 Chris Alcock, 6 Tom Cusack, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Josh Mann-Rea, 1 Nic Mayhew.
Replacements - from: Robbie Abel, Faalelei Sione, Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, Blake Enever, Jordan Smiler, Tomas Cubelli, Jordan Jackson-Hope, Mac Hansen, Ryan Lonergan, Isaac Thompson, Ben Hyne, Saia Fainga’a, Jamie Kotz, Henry Speight.

Australian Barbarians: David Lolohea, 15 Junior Laloifi, 14 Matt Hawke, 13 Tom Hill, 12 Andrew Robinson, 11 Sione Taufa, 10 Aj Alatimu, 9 Dewet Roos, 8 Tyrone Viiga, 7 Will Miller, 6 Will Munro, 5 Tom Alexander, 4 Adrian Hall, 3 Rory O’Connor, 2 James Hilterbrand, 1 David Lolohea. 
Replacements - from: Brandon Paenga-Amos, Laione Mulikhaamea, Phillip Kite, Tyrell Barker, Dean Oakman-Hunt, Edan Campbell-O’Brien, Ben Johnson, Manihera Eden, Matt Narracott.

Referee: Nic Berry

Source: @BrumbiesRugby (pic:

There are currently no matches being played
Sat, 29 July 2017
Crusaders v Chiefs 07h35 Christchurch
Golden Lions v Griquas 10h00 Johannesburg
Lions v Hurricanes 12h30 Ellis Park
Sharks v Pumas 15h00 Durban
Sun, 30 July 2017
Free State Cheetahs v Western Province 12h30 Bloemfontein
Sun, 23 July 2017
Pumas v Golden Lions 43 | 36
Sat, 22 July 2017
Griquas v Blue Bulls 45 | 51
Stormers v Chiefs 11 | 17
Lions v Sharks 23 | 21
Crusaders v Highlanders 17 | 0
Fri, 21 July 2017
Free State Cheetahs v Sharks 47 | 12
Brumbies v Hurricanes 16 | 35
Sat, 15 July 2017
Sharks v Lions 10 | 27
Bulls v Stormers 33 | 41
Force v Waratahs 40 | 11
Hurricanes v Crusaders 31 | 22
Chiefs v Brumbies 28 | 10
Sunwolves v Blues 43 | 21
Fri, 14 July 2017
Kings v Cheetahs 20 | 21
Rebels v Jaguares 29 | 32
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28