Koroibete out of Brisbane Tens

Thu, 09 Feb 2017 08:05
Large marika koroibete 800

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: The Melbourne Rebels have made three change to their final squad for the inaugural Brisbane Global Rugby Tens at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane this weekend.

Rebels new recruit Marika Koroibete, Mitch Inman and Murray Douglas have been omitted from the 26-player squad with Jonah Placid, Dennis Pili-Gaitau and Jake Schatz named as replacements.
Rebels head coach Tony McGahan, in conjunction with medical staff, have opted for a conservative approach to Koroibete's return to rugby from a knee injury.

"We're disappointed for Marika, but with the 2017 Super Rugby season only two weeks away we're not prepared to risk further injury by rushing his return to rugby," McGahan said.
"Marika has shown great progress in his recovery and he will continue to work closely with the team's medical department to give him the best chance of returning for the opening round against the Blues."
Douglas failed to reach full fitness, but should be available for Tuesday's trial against the Reds while Inman picked up niggle in Monday's trial against the Western Force, but is expected to return for Round One.
The Rebels completed their four-day pre-season camp on the Gold Coast on Thursday ahead of the team's arrival in Brisbane on Friday.
The Rebels will kick off the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens in the opening game of the tournament against the Chiefs before taking on Top League's Panasonic Wild Knights and an Australian Derby against the Waratahs.
The inaugural competition will feature the ten Super Rugby franchises from Australia and New Zealand Super Rugby, along with the Panasonic Wild Knights, French powerhouse club Toulon, South Africa's Blue Bulls and the Samoan international team.
The Rebels squad will remain in Brisbane following the tournament for the trial match against the Reds on Tuesday, February 14 at Ballymore Stadium.
The Rebels will kick off the 2017 Super Rugby season against the Blues at AAMI Park on Thursday, February 23. 
Melbourne Rebels squad: Cruze Ah-Nau, Steve Cummins, Jack Debreczeni, Tom English, Colby Fainga'a, Jackson Garden-Bachop, James Hanson, Reece Hodge, Pat Leafa, Tyrel Lomax, Jack Maddocks, Amanaki Mafi, Ben Meehan, Sefa Naivalu, Dennis Pili-Gaitau, Jonah Placid, Jordy Reid, Culum Retallick, Jake Schatz, Toby Smith, Nic Stirzaker (captain), Lopeti Timani, Sione Tuipulotu, Morgan Turinui (wildcard), Ben Volavola, Laurie Weeks.

There are currently no matches being played
Pool AU
Team P W D L Pts
Brumbies 15 6 0 9 34
Force 15 6 0 9 26
Reds 15 4 0 11 21
Waratahs 15 4 0 11 19
Rebels 15 1 1 13 9
Pool NZ
Team P W D L Pts
Crusaders 15 14 0 1 63
Hurricanes 15 12 0 3 58
Chiefs 15 12 1 2 57
Highlanders 15 11 0 4 51
Blues 15 7 1 7 37
Pool SA1
Team P W D L Pts
Stormers 15 10 0 5 43
Cheetahs 15 4 0 11 21
Bulls 15 4 0 11 20
Sunwolves 15 2 0 13 12
Pool SA2
Team P W D L Pts
Lions 15 14 0 1 65
Sharks 15 9 1 5 42
Jaguares 15 7 0 8 33
Kings 15 6 0 9 28